C is for Cookie

I love baking.  I love sweet treats.  I love having a freezer full of delicious homemade goodies for my daughter’s school snacks or after school treats.  But I have definitely been slacking in the healthy baking department.

Well today I finally got my bake on! I wanted to make some cookies.  But did I stop at one batch? Oh no, I made three delicious varieties of yummy little goodies.  All three are clean eating approved and have received the kid seal of approval!  Double bonus!

I recently bought a giant bag of hemp seeds and an equally giant bag of chia seeds at Costco so I was very happy to find that I could use these ultra healthy morsels of goodness in my first recipe.

Flourless Hemp Chia Cookies

Flourless Hemp Chia Cookies

  • 1 cup Hemp Seeds
  • 1/4 cup Chia Seeds
  • 1/4 cup Evaporated Cane Juice
  • 2 Eggs
  • 1 cup  Natural Almond Butter
  • 1/2 tsp Baking Soda
  • 1/4 cup Organic Chocolate Chips

Preheat oven to 350F.  Add all ingredients to a large bowl and mix well. Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper.  Drop batter by spoonfuls onto lined cookie sheet. Bake for 10-15 minutes or until golden brown.

*Original recipe from http://www.impactmagazine.ca

I had also bought a jumbo sized canister of Macadamia Nuts at Costco.  Big mistake on my part.  I have about zero control when it comes to Roasted Macadamia Nuts, Almonds or Cashews.  So I thought baking these delicious nuts into cookies would mean other people could enjoy them as well and it saves me from the aftermath of sitting down with the container and downing the whole thing in one sitting.

Photo Courtesy of Chocolate Covered Katie

Photo Courtesy of Chocolate Covered Katie

So I searched one of my favourite sites: Chocolate Covered Katie (so many good and healthy treats on her blog!) and found an awesome recipe for Soft Chocolate Chip Macadamia Nut Cookies.  Mmmmmmmm! So good! I think Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies have to be my favourite. Sweet, salty and delicious.

Photo Courtesy of Six Sisters’ Stuff

Next up I decided to bake something with my overabundance of bananas. I found a recipe for Skinny Chunky Monkey Cookies on Pinterest from the website Six Sisters’ Stuff so I thought I’d give it a try. It turned out like a mixture between banana bread and a cookie.  Not ultra sweet but sweet enough to kick the sweet craving. I’m quite the fan!

I baked, cooled and froze individual servings of all my cookies. And now I’m stocked up in the cookie department.  Well for this week at least…

What is your favourite type of cookie?

 

About Leesa D

Wife and mom of two crazy little monkeys. Trying to take on life's everyday challenges with love, laughter and a lot of impromptu dance parties!
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to C is for Cookie

  1. alifecurated says:

    I like a good oatmeal cookie, full of oats, not too sweet. I’ve never made a flourless cookie before but I bet they will be good for my gluten-free friends.

    • Leesa D says:

      They would be good for you as well! The flourless cookies almost have an oatmeal quality about them and are also not too sweet. Give it a shot! You might find your new favorite. ;)

I love comments! So tell me what you think!

