And so it begins…

So I’m one of those people that’s struggled with my weight my whole life.  I hit 200 lbs in Gr. 4 and have yo-yo’d my way through my life since then.  I love to eat, I love JUNK food, I have no self control, I’m an extremely emotional person, an emotional eater and I’m pretty inconsistent with exercise. I’m also great at making excuses.

  • I was born like this and my body isn’t capable of being thin
  • I don’t have the money for a gym membership
  • I’m pregnant so I can eat what I want (x2)
  • I just had a baby (x2)
  • I’m going to get pregnant again so what’s the point?
  • I have 2 kids, there’s no time
  • The gym doesn’t work with my schedule
  • I’m too tired

I could go on.

And then I saw this: Every year I say, this is going to be the year…I’ll start tomorrow.  Ok I’ll start next week.  No, I’m REALLY going to start next month.  Then a year passes and I still haven’t taken a step towards my goals.

I’ve been using the “I just had a baby” excuse since my daughter was born. She’s now 4 and my son is 2.  Seriously. No excuse.

“I have no time” Cut out some tv.  Wake up earlier.  No excuse

“The gym doesn’t work with my schedule” Find an alternative.  Work out at home.  No excuse.

“I’m too tired!” Go to bed earlier.  No excuse.

I hit the big 3-0 in September and I think it just finally hit me.  This needs to be important to me. Enough is enough.  I need to stop making excuses.  With the help of one really great friend in particular I’ve once again discovered my value.  And I think when you value yourself then you realize you are worth it.  You are worth the investment in yourself.  You can stop the self loathing and the binge eating.  You can stop being worried constantly about what others think of you.  Because YOU are awesome.  This isn’t just about getting “skinny”.  But I want to take care of myself.  You know how they say you need to put the oxygen mask on yourself first? Well this is it.  I’ve taken the first step. I’m going to take care of myself first so I can take care of those that I love the most.

I’ve decided my 30’s are about getting my life back. I’m going to live healthier.  I’m going to ditch the junk not only in food but also in relationships.  I’m going to concentrate on being the best wife and mom I can be. I’m going to do things because I want to do them not because I have to do them or because others think I should do them.  I’m going to focus on the positive and forget the negative. How am I going to do this? One day at a time.

I’m starting today, right now.  This is my place to challenge myself.  To share my successes and sometimes my failures. To give myself some accountability.  And to hopefully encourage others to set their own goals and challenge themselves.

I’m starting with a 90 Day Challenge.  Exercise, eat well and see just how much I can transform myself in 90 days.

What changes have I made so far?

1)I’ve started doing a Fitcamp twice a week at 5:15 am.  Yes, I know, it’s insanely early.  But you know what? It works with my schedule and I feel fantastic for the rest of the day.

2)I’ve started eating 5-6 times a day.  Including ViSalus shakes 2x a day.  I feel fuller.  I don’t feel bloated anymore. And I actually enjoy eating without feeling guilty.

3) I’m drinking more water. This one seems to be hard for me as I am on the go a lot.  I found it easier when I was at a desk all day.  But I’m aiming for 2-3 L /day.

So who’s with me!? What are you going to do today to take a step towards your goals? You don’t have to do everything all at once.  Start small.  Start with 1 thing.  The important thing is just that you START!

About Leesa D

Wife and mom of two crazy little monkeys. Trying to take on life's everyday challenges with love, laughter and a lot of impromptu dance parties!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to And so it begins…

  1. Great blog. You look amazing already. You inspire others to not make excuses and take charge of our health. Way to go.

  2. Pingback: I Just Turned 1! | HealthHappinessHumour

I love comments! So tell me what you think!

