Halloween Hangover

Halloween

I’m not going to say Halloween is my favorite time of year and I usually don’t even dress up.  BUT, I do love getting my kids in their costumes and seeing all the cuties come to my door.  I also REALLY love chocolate.

Halloween Candy

We live in a neighborhood that usually gets over 100 little ghosts, superheros and princesses so we have tons of candy in our house.  And usually I will start digging into said candy about the time the first trick or treater rings the door bell.  I’ll also probably continue to eat candy until the extra 100-200 mini candy bars that we buy are devoured.

This year I decided I didn’t want to ruin all my hard work over a giant chocolate binge.  But I did want to actually take part in the fun of eating some of the mini candies.  So what’s a girl to do? I set aside a little ziploc bag filled with some of my favorite treats and told myself that was all I was allowed this Halloween.   I was doing great.  Kids were out with their dad flashing their adorable smiles and filling their bags with chocolaty goodness.  I was at home ridding our house of temptation by passing it on to other people’s children.

And then in walks Izak with his bag of candy.  And he actually OFFERS me a Reese’s Pieces. You have to know that Izak NEVER shares.  He will offer you some of his treats and then grab it back at the last second and laugh at you.   But actually follow through with a treat offer? I don’t think it’s ever happened.  But here is my cute little aviator offering up one of his prized Reese’s Pieces.  So how can I say no?  When I accepted his offer for the candy he says “No mommy, I feed you” and proceeded to feed me the treat.  So cute…melted my heart.  And then the chocolate melted in my mouth and well, game over for my holding out on the treats plan.

As soon as the kids went to bed I decided it was time to hit the treats and dug into my little ziploc allowance.  Now, I originally thought this little allowance would last me minimum 3 days.  But once I started, those candy wrappers started flying everywhere and I was done in about…oh 10 minutes.  *sigh* But you know what? It’s ok, I don’t feel bad.  Because I know that I’ve got my chocolate fix and I won’t dig in any more.  Instead of that being a cheat day that threw me for a loop, made me feel guilty and sent me back to old habits I made it a treat day.  I was able to enjoy it and now I can continue on with healthy eating.

Even when we’re eating healthy we have to give ourselves those days.  We are human.  I don’t want to be the girl who’s never allowed to go out to a restaurant or have a piece of cake or to never eat sugar again.  Cause all that’s going to do is make me crave things more and more and more until one day I lose it and go on a huge binge. But as I’ve said before, I just need to make sure those treat days aren’t happening all the time.  I want to save my treat days for times when it’s really worth it! And I also want to make sure I limit it to only 1 treat day a week.

So now Halloween is done and I’m left with about 300 mini chocolate bars from Ayla and Izak’s powerhouse trick or treating.  How am I going to avoid that temptation?  Well today when I was really craving a Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup (my absolute favorite Halloween treat) I decided to make myself a PB and Banana Shake instead (click for recipe).  Still satisfied my craving for something sweet and peanut buttery but instead of the gross feeling of eating junk I knew that I was eating something that was actually nutritious and delicious, would keep me feeling full and wouldn’t make me crash shortly after.  Go for the healthy alternative.  Your waistline will thank you and you’ll save yourself the post chocolate guilt.

How are you dealing with your Halloween Hangover and all the leftover treats? Do you leave them for the kids? Steal them from the kids? Or take them in to a Halloween Candy Buy Back?

About Leesa D

Wife and mom of two crazy little monkeys. Trying to take on life's everyday challenges with love, laughter and a lot of impromptu dance parties!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I love comments! So tell me what you think!

