Off to bed…or the grocery store?

pajamas

I recently posted a Facebook status about pajama pants in public.  Turns out this is a touchy subject for quite a few people and it brought out a lot of very interesting and amusing comments. Since it started turning into a complete and utter gong show on my Facebook page I decided it was best to just end the war, delete the thread and just clarify my comments more right here!

So my original post said simply this:  “Pajama pants in public make my heart sad”.  I stand by that statement.  It really truly does make my heart sad when I see people walking around in pajama pants.

One person told me that I was being judgmental.  That I shouldn’t judge people by what they wear.  True, people should not be judged just by the clothes they are wearing.  Not everyone can afford designer clothes, and not everyone has good fashion sense.  I respect that!  Whether you buy your clothes at Wal-Mart or Michael Kors has no bearing on how I will treat you!  But let’s clarify this again, I did not say “People who wear pajama pants in public are the scum of the earth”.  I said “Pajama pants in public make my heart sad”.

So here is exactly why pajama pants in public make me sad.  When you see a woman walking around town in her pajamas does it make you think, “Wow! That woman has such confidence!  Boldly jumping out of bed and onto the street with not a care in the world! She loves herself, she loves her body and she’s just not afraid to get out there and show everyone her positive outlook on the world by sharing the smiley faces on her pajama pants!”  Yeah not exactly the image that’s portrayed.  Usually when I see someone in pajama pants they have a frown on their face and look like they are trying to hide from the world.  I see someone who is tired, who doesn’t care anymore and who thinks “I’m not worth it”.  And THAT is what makes my heart sad.

To see people who have just given up on themselves enough to not even care to take the time to get dressed in the morning is sad! What happened to make these women lose confidence in themselves? To be ok with portraying the image of a sad and, I’m sorry but, lazy woman? I just want to shake them and say “GET IT TOGETHER WOMAN!” Pick yourself back up and put on some pants! You’ll feel better! I swear!

After I had Ayla I spent a LOT of time in my pajamas.  I didn’t do my hair, I was a mess all the time and I just felt terrible about myself.  (And even then I still kept the pajamas at home.) It’s kind of hard to have confidence throughout the day when you look in the mirror and know that you look like you just rolled out of bed! I snapped out of it! I realized I couldn’t live like that forever! And once I did, you know what? I didn’t walk around with my head down and a frown on my face.  I didn’t feel the need to try and hide and blend in with the crowd. I held my head high and smiled!

I heard the argument that pajama pant wearers do so because it’s comfortable and they don’t care what other people think.  I don’t buy that at all.  I don’t care who you are or what you say, everyone to some degree cares what other people think.   You can give me the “I don’t give a crap about what people think” speech until you are blue in the face but I’m sorry honey, that comes from lack of confidence, not an abundance of it.  You can hide behind that but I’m not buying it. And as for comfort? I am VERY comfortable in my jeans.  When you find the right jeans and the right size,  jeans can be the most comfortable thing you own. Want even more comfort? How about some cute leggings and a tunic or dress.  There are all sorts of ways to be comfortable without resorting to bedtime attire.

As for the arguments about how I shouldn’t be worried about pajama pants when people are walking around in dresses that look like negligee or short shorts.  Well that’s a topic for another time.  I didn’t say that I want you to switch from pajama pants to lingerie.  I just said put on some pants.

Not that women are the only ones that wear pajama pants in public.  In fact yesterday at the coffee shop I was at, this young guy came in with some chili pepper pj bottoms. (Now THAT’s hot!) I just shook my head and let him have the excuse that he was a college student and he walked over from campus.  So no, it’s not just woman, but right now I’m using women as an example as the majority of people I see these days in their pj’s are women.  Women doing school drop offs, going to the grocery store, or in the case which caused the Facebook status, coming to my house to purchase something.

My whole point in this is that I wish women would be more confident in themselves.  Don’t diss fashion cause you don’t understand it.  Don’t act like you don’t care just cause you’re scared to try. Show some confidence and get dressed in the morning.  You deserve it.  You’re going to feel better about yourself.  Like I said before, you need to put the oxygen mask on yourself first.  Because how are you supposed to care for anyone else if you don’t take care of YOU!

About Leesa D

Wife and mom of two crazy little monkeys. Trying to take on life's everyday challenges with love, laughter and a lot of impromptu dance parties!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Off to bed…or the grocery store?

  1. RLor says:

    I am so enjoying your blog, now I know what you meant about HOT 😛 Keep them coming, see you in the morning.

  2. Lorene says:

    Glad Peter linked to this on Facebook, I enjoyed reading it very much and will be bookmarking your page. I definitely agree with you. I find that when I go out dressed like a slob – although never in pjs! – I feel worse about myself. And while I will never be the one all dolled up to go to the grocery store (seriously, some women look like they’re going clubbing down the dairy isle), I do try to look presentable. Makes me feel better about myself and it shows respect to others too, that I care enough to look decent.

  3. Leesa D says:

    Glad you ladies are enjoying the blog! Thanks for the comments 🙂

  4. Angie says:

    I just found your blog!! Not sure how I missed it. =(. Your such an inspiration not to mention hilarious!! Now I’m not saying I won’t walk around the house in my PJ’s anymore.. but I will definitely think twice now about getting dressed and having more confidence! Love ya sis!!

    • Leesa D says:

      Thanks little sista! An occasional pj day at home are a-ok in my books. Just make sure you throw on some jeans to go out 🙂 You always looks cute though so no worries about that!

  5. Pingback: Run, Forrest, Run! | HealthHappinessHumour

  6. Judy says:

    I’ve only worn PJ’s out of the house once (ok except for those times in middle school when it was trendy…) and in my defense I was super hungover and just needed coffee. I totally agree with you, generally PJ pants in public make my heart sad too.

  7. Pingback: And You Thought the Snuggie Did Not Go Far Enough, Well Then Here’s Forever Lazy! « Public Investigation

I love comments! So tell me what you think!

