Running towards my goals

Treadmill

I decided this week that I really need to start running.  I’ve noticed some improvements at Fitcamp and I’ve started to love how I feel when I run.  Granted, the running I do is a maximum two laps around the dome or one set of suicide drills, which is probably equivalent to a run around the block.  Regardless, improvements are improvements and I got it in my head that I need a treadmill. And when I get an idea in my head, look out, cause there’s no stopping me!

I told my husband my brilliant plan to get in more exercise with a new and rather large piece of exercise equipment.  I immediately received “the look” which I’m sure meant he was thinking “do we really need something else for you to toss your clothes on at the end of the day?” Alright, alright, so I don’t have the best track record with all my fantastic ideas to get fit.  I’ll give him that.  But this time I’m really serious!

I read awhile ago that you shouldn’t buy things in order to force you to form a habit. Don’t buy a gym membership in hopes that it will motivate you to work out.  Don’t buy all the fancy workout gear as a way to get your well dressed bum to the gym.  And I’m sure we could add, don’t buy a treadmill in hopes that it will help you to love running. Develop the habit first and then spend the money when you know you’re going to stick with it.

So I guess my way of compromising was to look on kijiji for a used treadmill.  This way I can feel it out, make sure I’m actually going to use the treadmill and then if I REALLY love it  I can spend the big bucks on a good machine.  Sounds like the perfect plan to me! Tell that to my husband who had to shell out the $450.

I was pumped to pick up my new-to-me treadmill tonight.  I immediately wanted to just get it set up and start running.  So excited, in fact, that I decided I could be the one to help my husband bring it down our narrow staircase to the basement.  Afterall, I HAVE been working out.  Well, one step and one giant dent later we decided it’s probably best to leave it to the men.  Oops! I guess my path to marathon running will start tomorrow!

What do you think? Does your home workout equipment sit in a corner collecting dust and dirty clothes? Or was it worth the investment?

About Leesa D

Wife and mom of two crazy little monkeys. Trying to take on life's everyday challenges with love, laughter and a lot of impromptu dance parties!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Running towards my goals

  1. Its inspiring to see how much you’ve improved. Not only physically but mentally. Very proud of u.

  2. check out my blog for fitness tips and recipes 🙂

  3. Pingback: What are the Downsides of Manual Treadmills?

I love comments! So tell me what you think!

