I wear short shorts…

I’ve been doing FitCamp twice a week since September and have been telling myself I’m going to fit in some extra workouts at home during the week as well. Every week I tell myself, ok, this week I’m going to start. After two months of saying that and no action on my part, it wasn’t looking good.

Funny cause it's true

And then in came the treadmill, my beloved treadmill. I did my first run on Saturday and for the first time ever, I think I finally really loved running. Now just to be clear, I am not running 11K in 45 minutes or anything…ok so I MAY have embarrassed myself by telling one of my friends I did just that and then realized the treadmill was obviously recording my distance wrong. The joys of a second hand treadmill. But no, I am definitely a beginner and do a combination of running and walking. One of my friends gave me a Learn to Run 10K program which so far has been fantastic. Being the big shot I am (ok that I like to think I am) I decided to start on Week 3 instead of Week 1. I don’t know why, I’m just weird like that. I did my first run and felt like smiling for the rest of the day. I was amazed at how I felt, how I wasn’t hating it after the first run segment, just how much progress in general I’ve made in my fitness level. Of course I’m not even close to where I want to be in the running department. But it’s still more than I’ve ever done and I felt better than I’ve ever felt while running.

After my second run and being incredibly hot with two heat vents blasting down on me in the basement first thing in the morning (need to remember to tell husband to set heat to turn on later in the morning) I thought, what’s the best way to beat the heat? Why, new workout gear of course! I decided that shorts would be much better than my long yoga pants and picked a pair of short little workout shorts off the shelf. I figured they would be good for a laugh anyway. Well I tried them on and sweet mother of pearl! I couldn’t believe my eyes! They actually fit AND looked pretty decent! I wore them for the first time this morning and after seeing my husbands face and giant smile when I came downstairs, I was feelin’ pretty dang good.

As mentioned in my last blog, you shouldn’t buy new workout clothes in hopes that it will push you to workout more, but when you do, it sure does give you that little extra boost! Personally when I think I look good, I feel good, I’m in a better mood. And for me, a good mood makes for a good workout. Now, I will definitely not be leaving my house in these short shorts, those are strictly for at home (maybe I’ll keep them next to my pajama pants). But they served as a really good reminder of how far I’ve actually come. And that in itself pushed me just a little bit harder today.

The fact that I am actually enjoying running has actually made it easier to get my butt out of bed first thing in the morning every day this week. (So it’s only Wednesday, whatever, it’s a start!) My new plan is to get up with my husband at 5:30 on Mondays, Wednesday and Fridays and get my treadmill time in. Fitcamp is Tuesday and Thursday mornings and my workout buddy and I have also added Zumba on Sunday nights.

I never in a million years thought I would ever be able to workout this much. I especially didn’t think I’d ever WANT to work out this much. But I really have found since I started doing ViSalus that I just have more energy! I think that was one of my biggest problems before, I just didn’t feel I even had the energy to work out. But when you’re feeling good about yourself, feeling good about life and you have the energy to do it, you just want to keep going! And of course seeing the results doesn’t hurt either.

What keeps you motivated to work out? Or what is your biggest challenge in getting started?

About Leesa D

Wife and mom of two crazy little monkeys. Trying to take on life's everyday challenges with love, laughter and a lot of impromptu dance parties!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I wear short shorts…

  1. sweetopiagirl says:

    Reblogged this on inspiredweightloss.

I love comments! So tell me what you think!

