Eat, drink, and defrazzle

I’ve discovered that the key to staying on track with anything is to have a plan.  I find this especially true for me when it comes to my eating habits.  I hate deciding what to eat.  I especially hate meal decisions when it’s 4:30,  the kids are cranky, I’m hungry and I have no idea what kind of meal the contents of my sparse fridge can produce.  At this point I’m not likely to make a smart and healthy choice.  I’m more likely to grab a frozen pizza or make some other fast and equally unhealthy meal.

So how do I avoid this? Why, by planning of course! I’ve started to make it a habit to plan my meal and grocery list for the week on Sundays.  This saves me in so many ways.  For starters, I never have to make that 4:30 frazzled decision.  I always know that I have the groceries in the house needed for these recipes.  I also know that we are going to be eating healthy all week instead of grabbing whatever junk I see.  It saves me time, it saves me energy, saves me money and it saves my sanity!!

I reaffirmed the importance of meal planning when last week I forgot to do just that.  I was so frazzled all week.  My fridge was void of all the normal healthy snacks and ingredients for yummy meals. Instead I was left with a lot of random throwing together of meals which were neither that tasty nor that nutritious.  So this week I’m back on the bandwagon!

I recently purchased The Best of Clean Eating: Over 200 Mouthwatering Recipes to Keep Cover of "The Best of Clean Eating: Over ...You Lean and Healthy.  LOVE this cookbook.  In fact I think it’s the best cookbook I’ve ever owned.  I wanted something that had healthy recipes, great pictures and didn’t call for all those weird ingredients that I would never  have or even know where to look for.  This definitely has all that.  Great mix of cleaned up every day recipes as well as some things that stretch me from my normal pantry basics.  I love that I can pick up this book, pick a recipe and know that not only am I getting something super nutritious for my family but I also know it’s going to be delicious.  I drool every time I open the book.  Needless to say, that has been my go-to book for all my meal planning as of late.

So if you are interested to know what I eat in a normal week or would like some ideas of your own then check out my meal plan for this week!

Breakfast
Snack
Lunch
Snack
Supper
Snack
Monday
ViSalus Café Latte
Cottage Cheese & Strawberries
ViSalus Almond Butter & Banana Shake
Ryvita with Applesauce, ground flaxseed and Almonds
Baked Salmon with Orange Glaze
Veggies and Hummus
Tuesday
ViSalus Apple Pie Shake
Dried Apricots & Almonds
ViSalus Chocolate Peppermint Shake
Yogurt with banana and almonds
Low Carb Spaghetti Squash with Spinach and Pine Nuts
Apple & 1Tbsp Almond Butter
Wednesday
ViSalus Strawberry Coco Shake
Natural Trail Mix
ViSalus Peanut Butter Cup Smoothie
Veggies & Hummus
Balsamic-Marinated Pork Chops & Grilled Peaches
Cottage Cheese & Blueberries
Thursday
ViSalus Cinnamon Bun Shake
Dried Apricots & Almonds
ViSalus Pina Colada Shake
Apple & 1Tbsp Almond Butter
Chicken Pomodoro Angel Hair Pasta & Salad
Yogurt & Strawberries
Friday
ViSalus Café Mocha
Celery with Almond Butter and Raisins
ViSalus Chocolate Almond Delight
Ryvita with Applesauce, ground flaxseed and Almonds
Tilapia Citrus Couscous Salad
Veggies and Hummus
Saturday
ViSalus Thai Coconut Chiller
Natural Trail Mix
ViSalus Blueberry Cheesecake Shake
Greek Yogurt with 1 tsp pure Maple Syrup and Blueberries
Leftovers
Apple & 1Tbsp Almond Butter
Sunday
ViSalus Café Latte
Low Fat String Cheese and 1/2 Grapefruit
ViSalus Neopolitan Shake
Grapes and Almonds
Pasta Roll Ups with Turkey and Spinach
Ryvita topped with Hummus Cucumbers and Tomatoes
About Leesa D

Wife and mom of two crazy little monkeys. Trying to take on life's everyday challenges with love, laughter and a lot of impromptu dance parties!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I love comments! So tell me what you think!

