Baking Up A Storm

In an attempt to start eating cleaner in 2012 I have decided I really need to start baking my own healthy snacks for myself and the kids more often. I love baking. I love having homemade muffins, cookies, banana bread etc but what I really DISLIKE is the cleanup. I already feel like I clean the kitchen all day long so the thought of adding an extra mess during the day is quite discouraging in my quest to start baking again.

Well I found some clean and delicious recipes online the other day and it really motivated me to get my butt in the kitchen. Since it was an at home/pj day I figured I’d better make the most of it!

I am happy to report that:

a) Both batches were delicious.

b) After baking both batches of these delicious snacks I only had two pans that had to be washed by hand and the rest went into my fabulous dishwasher.

I love it when the mess is minimal!! My kids and I loved sampling the baking. And I loved that these “treats” were a healthy alternative to the sugar laden baking we would have bought from the store.

I’ve included the recipes for you all to check out as well as the links to the websites they came from so you can peruse even more delicious recipes!

Blueberry Protein Muffins

Recipe and photo from Busy But Healthy. Check out this site for a ton of amazing and healthy recipes.

Makes 12 muffins

1 1/2 cups oat flour
3 x 30 gram scoops of whey protein, vanilla (I used ViSalus Vi-Shape Shake Mix.)
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 cup Krisda stevia baking formula (or 12 packets of stevia) (I didn’t have Stevia so I used 2 Tbsp Maple Syrup. The Vi-Shape adds extra sweetness as well.)
pinch sea salt
3 egg whites (1/4 cup + 2 Tbsp carton kind)
2/3 cup unsweetened applesauce (2 snack packs)
3/4 cup blueberries (I used frozen)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. In a large bowl, mix together all the dry ingredients. Add in all the wet ingredients (except blueberries) and mix well. Lastly, fold in the blueberries. Mist a muffin pan with oil, and fill each 3/4 full with the batter. Bake for 12-13 minutes or until just firm on top and a toothpick comes clean. Careful not to overbake, or they will be try.

Store in an airtight container in the fridge. To make them taste fresh out of the oven again, microwave each muffin for 15-20 seconds.

Whole Wheat Gingerbread Scones

Recipe and photo from The Happy Herbivore. Another great site to check out for healthy vegan recipes.

Ingredients:

Instructions:

Directions:Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.
1. Combine whole wheat pastry flour, baking powder, salt, and spices in one bowl. Whisk together until all of the dry ingredients are combined.
2. Create a well in the center of the dry ingredients.
3. Pour your apple sauce, vanilla and maple syrup into the well. Combine wet and dry, if it seems too dry add the optional non-dairy milk. You do not want a very wet/runny dough, but it should be tacky.
4.I made these by using a large cookie scoop and scooping the dough onto a sprayed cookie sheet. A cookie scoop is essentially like a large ice cream scoop, it makes your baked goods uniformed. You can also use a measuring cup to get the same amount of dough in each scone.
5. Bake for 13 to 15 minutes, or until firm to touch.

What’s your favorite delicious and healthy snack?

About Leesa D

Wife and mom of two crazy little monkeys. Trying to take on life's everyday challenges with love, laughter and a lot of impromptu dance parties!
This entry was posted in Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Baking Up A Storm

  1. Pingback: Photo of the Day AND Recipe Five of the Challenge! « This Night Is Sparkling.

I love comments! So tell me what you think!

