One challenge complete, many more to go!

Well my first 90 Day Challenge is now complete! I didn’t realize until the end how the timing of my challenge was probably the worst I could ever possibly pick. I mean really! Who chooses to be “good” with their eating over Halloween, Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Years? Plus my hubby and I went away on a 4 day vacation in there as well. Yowzers. It’s a miracle I didn’t actually put on 10 lbs during this challenge! But on the other hand, it’s probably good I was on the Challenge at this time or the 10 lbs WOULD be on and so the cycle of me gaining weight every year around this time would continue.

Although I’m sure I could have pushed myself more and resisted those tempting treats more than I managed to do, the fact that I still made progress is pretty great in my books! 🙂

So what ARE the results I’m sure you are wondering…

Well there are a few ways to measure this. For starters I feel stronger, I run longer and my energy level has definitely increased. My fitness assessments at Fitcamp have definitely shown great improvement and my plank time is now at 3:10 (it started at 1:08). My longest running session was done on Friday where I ran 10 minutes, walked 1 min, ran 20 min, walked 1 min and then ran 30 minutes. When I first started I was running for 3 minutes and walking for 2 minutes, repeated 7 times. That one shocks me. I remember when I had to bump up my running segments to 5 minutes of running and 1 minute walking. It took everything I had to make it through those. So to me, these are my biggest accomplishments on this 90 Day Challenge.

And of course the other way to measure is weight and measurements. I know that I’m putting on muscle so weight wise that hasn’t changed much. I’ve only lost a few lbs. But I’m not so worried about that anymore. Muscle weighs more then fat! As for measurements I’ve lost a total of 10.5 inches and dropped a jean size! Here’s the breakdown:

  • Arms – .75″
  • Thighs – 2.25″
  • Hips – 2.5″
  • Waist – 2.25″
  • Chest – 2.75″ (like THAT’s the one I want to lose the most inches from :P)

So there ya have it! I’m super excited that I’m finally progressing in the right direction with absolutely no desire to turn back. I love setting these mini challenges for myself. The small goals really give me something attainable to push towards and to keep me focused. And seeing the results is always a bonus. I actually went bathing suit shopping without leaving the store crying!! Now that’s some definite progress! 🙂

And now for more goal setting! I will be running my first 5K race on St. Patrick’s Day. This one frightens me a little as I’ve never run a race and I only run on the treadmill right now. But time to set aside fears and just go for it right?!

Then I will be starting a new Body by Vi 90 Day Challenge on Jan. 30. I love doing these challenges as you can set your mind to do anything for 90 days. It’s not too overwhelming. It’s doable. And after 90 days you can really start forming those good habits that will last you a lifetime.

So who’s with me!? Let’s do a challenge together and motivate each other! Jump on the ViSalus bandwagon and start living that healthy life you’ve always wanted to live!

About Leesa D

Wife and mom of two crazy little monkeys. Trying to take on life's everyday challenges with love, laughter and a lot of impromptu dance parties!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to One challenge complete, many more to go!

  1. Pingback: Challenge Part Deux | HealthHappinessHumour

I love comments! So tell me what you think!

