Challenge Part Deux

Time to start my second ViSalus 90 Day Challenge! I’m excited, I’m ready, I’m expecting big things…or perhaps I’m expecting big things to become little things? 😉

As mentioned in my blog post One Challenge Complete…Many More to Go, I’m happy with the results from my last challenge but I feel I can push myself a bit more.  It was hard for me to overcome a few of the obstacles so I have some things to work on this time around.  But if it was easy it wouldn’t be a “challenge” now would it?

My biggest challenges:

Night time snacking.  I LOVE my evening snacks.  It’s not so bad when I go for the healthy options but it seemed that by the end of my challenge I kept reaching for the “bad” snacks instead of the good and healthy ones. How am I going to overcome this?  Here are a few of my ideas:

  • Drink tea. Tea helps me get over a bit of that sweet craving and the extra liquid helps fill me up.
  • Post a list of healthy snacks on the fridge.  This way when I’m going for a snack I can see all my options up front.  Sometimes I forget about all the delicious things I can have so instead of actually making my brain work to think of something good, I’ll just reach for the unhealthy treat because it’s easier.
  • Stop buying unhealthy snacks! Seems like the obvious thing to do right? If it’s not in the house then I can’t eat it. But then I’m at the grocery store and think “I’ll just buy it so I can eat a couple of chips as a treat”  Even though I know that once I open that bag there’s going to be nothing left but crumbs.  And of course I don’t just buy the single serving bag, oh no, Costco size all the way.  😛

Holiday meals/treats.  The last challenge I had to get through Halloween, Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Years and a four day vacation with my hubby. Lucky for me we’ve passed most of the holidays now so this should not be as big of a problem.  As long as I make it very clear to my hubby that chocolates are not a very wise choice for Valentine’s Day (diamonds are MUCH better), then I can avoid that temptation.  Then I just have to get through Easter and I should be good to go.

Not drinking enough water.  One of my goals at the beginning of my last challenge was to drink more water.  I started off very strong drinking 2-3L per day.  But as the challenge went on my water consumption went down.  I’m not sure why this one is so tough for me! But since I know it is very important I am once again setting 2-3L per day as my goal and am going to work at meeting that goal daily.

“Sampling” the kid’s food. I am so bad for this.  I will make lunch for the kids and will sneak a bite here and a bite there.  Or if they don’t finish some of their sandwich I’ll take it upon myself to eat the rest of it.  (I’m very self-sacrificing that way.) This mindless eating is racking up quite a few calories throughout the day.  I think I will start slapping my own hand.  I think most of us don’t realize how many calories we consume by just picking at things here and there.  I remember when I was doing Weight Watchers they told us that for every random “bite” we ate throughout the day we should set an equal amount aside.  That way at the end of the day you will have a visual of how much you’ve actually eaten with these little bites here and there. You’d be amazed at how much food you’ve mindlessly consumed. This is where the “no eating while standing” rule comes in.

Of course in whatever you do there are always going to be challenges.  Nothing is ever going to be perfect.  But I think if you acknowledge what the areas you need to work on are and come up with an action plan then maybe you can at least overcome one or two!

So what are my goals in this 90 Day Challenge?

Weight loss/inches. I’m still not giving myself a specific weight loss goal.  Because for me it’s not about weight, it’s about toning up and gaining muscle.  So what that looks like on the scale? I have no idea.  Do I want to lose inches? Absolutely! I would love to drop another jean size.

Endurance/Speed.  My short-term goals are to complete the Learn to Run 10k program and to run a 5k on St. Patrick’s Day.  Right now my 5K time is pretty slow and treadmill running is easier than outside, so I’m hoping to cut that down quite a bit by the time race day is here! I have 30 min in my head as a goal.  Doable? Hopefully! I have never run 5k outside so it’s hard to know what a good goal for me is.  I’m just putting that number out there! Next up will be a 10k race.  I’m setting my sights on the Mother’s Day Run.

Strength.  I want to see my fitness assessments increase!

Goals:

  • Plank: 5min
  • Sit ups: 100
  • Pushups: 70
  • Burpees in 1 min: 20

So there you have it! My challenges and my goals all laid out!  I know that by sticking to the plan and getting the proper nutrition through ViSalus and clean eating I will be able to accomplish every one of my goals.  It’s all about keeping that motivation up and keeping my eye on the prize!  And that is where this blog comes in.  I will keep posting my successes and challenges.  I will let you know what’s working and what isn’t and of course I always welcome all ideas and suggestions.  I think when you let people know your goals and welcome them along on the journey it gives that extra push that sometimes we just really need.  So thanks for joining me on this journey, helping to keep me accountable and giving me my daily dose of motivation!

About Leesa D

Wife and mom of two crazy little monkeys. Trying to take on life's everyday challenges with love, laughter and a lot of impromptu dance parties!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Challenge Part Deux

  1. Pingback: Scaling Back | HealthHappinessHumour

I love comments! So tell me what you think!

