Scaling Back

As some of you may know from my previous post, It’s judgement day!, I have an unhealthy relationship with the scale.  Even after swearing that I would cut back on how much I weighed myself, I just couldn’t do it.  That little devil stares me down every time I get out of the shower and demands that I step on it.  And although I did change my attitude about it a bit and don’t count on it fully for my fitness progress, I still hold its importance much higher than I should.

Sometimes this constant staring at the scale is even used as an excuse to keep eating poorly! If I have a night of eating junk and drinking too much wine I will go double-check the scale in the morning. If the scale does not show any upward movement, well, I’ve just justified my bad eating and may just do it again the next night!  I know, I know, it’s twisted and doesn’t make sense.

After having a chat with my bestie and knowing that she also suffers from holding that little number on too high of a pedestal, I decided it was time to get rid of the nasty little naysayer once and for all! (The scale…not the bestie :))

So I proposed a challenge: no scales until the end of our 90 Day Challenge! Now this may not seem like a very big deal to some people.  But I for one was weighing myself AT LEAST once a day.  In order for me to go through with this new challenge I knew that the scale would have to be “misplaced”.  I briefly mentioned it to my hubby and like the amazing man he is, he made the scale disappear when I wasn’t looking. I really do love that man…

So today is the one week anniversary of the “No Scale Challenge”.  And I have to say, I’m feeling pretty good about it! I actually think I’m eating better and relying more on how I feel then by that little (ok it’s not that little) number on the scale.  Isn’t that how it should be anyway? I’m thinking this whole no scale thing may have to be a permanent change.  Well…perhaps I shouldn’t get too carried away just yet, I still have two months to go.

About Leesa D

Wife and mom of two crazy little monkeys. Trying to take on life's everyday challenges with love, laughter and a lot of impromptu dance parties!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Scaling Back

  1. Curly Carly says:

    I used to step on the scale all the time. A while back, after moving to my house, I left the scale in the garage and kept forgetting to move it inside. I decided to leave it out there and haven’t weighed myself at home since then. I have no idea how much I weight right now. It’s so freeing!

    • Leesa D says:

      I’m glad to hear you have broken the chains and are no longer a slave to the scale! 🙂 I totally agree it is pretty freeing to not be staring at that number everyday. Really hoping I can have the will power to not tear apart the house in search of the scale after this challenge is done. 😛

  2. Pingback: 105 Health Nutrition Fitness & Weight Loss Articles You Should See – Issue #1 | Mr.FuzzyBear

I love comments! So tell me what you think!

