Pride is Out, Gratitude is In

A few weeks ago, in true Leesa fashion, I randomly injured my hip flexor.  How I did it, I have no idea. I imagine it had something to do with my running technique but I can’t pinpoint it to a specific time.

For the first week of the injury I pushed through the pain and kept running until I finally decided I needed to tell my trainer about it. I’ve now been off running for two weeks. 😦 In the past having an injury would almost give me a sense of relief because being the queen of excuses, this was THE perfect excuse not to exercise.  But now in my new “addicted to exercise” state it’s been driving me CRAZY.

During Fitcamp when all the other Fitcampers are doing their running sessions poor sad Leesa is walking around the field with steam coming out of her ears.  It’s starting to make me a little twitchy not being able to join in when I see everyone else working their tail off.

Race day is one week from today. One week! And I haven’t been able to run for two weeks.  My goals of running my race and making decent time are now out the window.  IF I can even run for this race I am going to be nowhere near my goal time. *sigh*

It’s been a little frustrating for me for many reasons.  One of the biggest ones is that I’ve set these goals, announced them and now I feel like I’ve failed before I’ve even been given a chance. My pride is taking a huge hit.

So today I decided instead of just steaming about it I would just go outside and get a good refreshing walk in the sunshine. Then I started seeing the runners pass me and immediately my pride takes a big sucker punch once again.  So the first part of my walk was spent with self pity and pride taking over.  And then, I took a deep breath of that fresh morning air and thought, Leesa, you have legs to walk.  Be grateful that you can do that because not everyone is so lucky.  Quit focusing on what you CAN’T do, and start being grateful for all the things you CAN do.

Why is it that we take so many things for granted? I don’t stop and thank God on a regular basis that my body is capable of running, jumping, hiking, picking up my children, driving my car etc etc.  We just expect everything to work as it’s supposed to.  And then the minute something doesn’t work as it’s supposed to I feel I have the right to feel sorry for myself.

Well today I decided to thank God for what I do have and to just let that be enough. I also decided that I am going to set pride aside and enter that race whether I can run or not.  If I have to walk the whole way, so be it! These legs are fully capable of walking and for that I am truly grateful. I’m giving that pride a swift kick in the behind and letting gratitude take its place.

What are you grateful for today?

About Leesa D

Wife and mom of two crazy little monkeys. Trying to take on life's everyday challenges with love, laughter and a lot of impromptu dance parties!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pride is Out, Gratitude is In

  1. My runner’s knee flares up now every couple of days and today is a day where I have to walk. The quote you posted was so humbling: “What if you woke up today with only the things you thanked God for yesterday?”

  2. Thanks Leesa! So good to remember to always thank God for the blessings in our life. I am grateful for my family. I am grateful for the many blessings and the way God stretches me during the challenging times to help me grow in my faith.

    • Leesa D says:

      Thanks Jenn! Definitely not easy to be grateful during those challenging times but as they say, everything happens for a reason! Even if it’s for no other reason then to appreciate the million other things we should be grateful for. 🙂

I love comments! So tell me what you think!

