Pre-Race Freak Out Time!

Well, tomorrow is race day, my very first 5K, and I’m not going to lie…I’m kinda freaking out! I know it’s going to be fine.  I know I need to just relax and have fun.  But I cannot get rid of these butterflies in my stomach!  This morning I was looking some stuff up about the race and my hands actually started shaking, like uncontrollable, freaking out shaking!

I think it’s just because it’s all so unknown to me.  I’ve never done a race before, I’ve never even ran 5k outside before! So I’m not entirely sure what to expect.   I start thinking about details like, what the heck am I supposed to wear outside in 5 degree weather while running? What am I supposed to eat the night before the race or the morning of the race? How should I carry my iPhone to listen to my music during the run? Should I carry it in my hand? Should I put it in a pocket? What should I have on my playlist to keep me motivated? It’s all these little things that I’d never even thought about before that are freaking me out. And then of course the big one, what if I get out there and I just can’t do it?

I love trying new things but at the same time I hate trying new things.  The idea of pushing myself to do something different is always fun and exciting, but just before I do whatever new thing I’m trying it’s pretty much guaranteed that I will have my major freak out moments.  Doesn’t matter if it’s starting a new job, trying a new exercise class by myself, walking into a restaurant I’ve never been in to meet someone, auditioning for a vocal competition, getting together with someone who I haven’t talked to in ages, getting on a scary roller coaster, getting a tattoo…any kind of new experience for me is going to send me into a panic.  Could be days before, it could be minutes, but there will be panic.  But I always have to tell myself to suck it up and just do it. And this is why:

I don’t want to live my life with regrets.  I’d much rather face my fears, get out of my comfort zone and fail miserably than to chicken out and always wonder what would have happened if I’d just tried. No matter what, it’s an experience and you can learn from it.

So that being said, I’m still freaking out, it’s just part of my nature.  But is it going to stop me? Absolutely not.  I’m excited and I can’t wait to give this race my best shot! EEEK!  Wish me luck! 🙂

About Leesa D

Wife and mom of two crazy little monkeys. Trying to take on life's everyday challenges with love, laughter and a lot of impromptu dance parties!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Pre-Race Freak Out Time!

  1. nerdthatruns says:

    Great Post! Good luck on your race! Remember to just enjoy the moment and run your best! Regardless, since its your first race, it’ll be a PR no matter what!!!

  2. Pingback: And the results are in! | HealthHappinessHumour

  3. Pingback: My Answers to the Pre Race Freak Out Questions | HealthHappinessHumour

  4. Pingback: Now That’s Hot: A First Timers Bikram Yoga Experience | HealthHappinessHumour

  5. Pingback: It’s All Uphill From Here | HealthHappinessHumour

  6. Pingback: Run For Your Children: Heart Beats Race Results | HealthHappinessHumour

I love comments! So tell me what you think!

