My Answers to the Pre Race Freak Out Questions

In my Pre Race Freak Out Time post I raised some complete newbie extremely important questions and thought you might want to know how I answered them! While I am definitely not claiming that these are the RIGHT answers to the questions, they are the answers that worked for me.

What am I supposed to wear?  I decided to go with my ultra comfortable, tried and true, all time favorite Lululemon gear. Run Inspire Crop II, Cool Racer Back Tank Extra Long, and Jacket (sorry can’t remember the name and now it is discontinued!).  And of course don’t forget the Bondiband! I love these headbands for holding back my bangs and keeping the sweat out of my eyes.  Lots of cute designs as well.

I found it to be the perfect outfit for the -1 degree C temperature.  Not too hot, not too cold.  Plus the built in gloves in the jacket were perfect for the start of the race before I was totally warmed up.  It must have been a good choice of outfit cause Rachel showed up in the same thing! 🙂

So this bagel happens to be frozen and isn't loaded with cream cheese. But whatever...you get the drift!

What am I supposed to eat? I opted for a bagel, banana and a ViSalus Pro energy drink to hydrate and give me some extra energy.  I also had a ViSalus Go instant energy drink about 10 minutes before the start of the race.  Oh how I love my Go and Pro…And they aren’t pumped full of junk, sugar and tons of caffeine like many others.  I use them every morning before Fitcamp and I really find they help to give me that extra boost. You can check them out by clicking here.

How am I supposed to carry my iPhone? Should I carry it in my hand or in my pocket? Well I ended up putting it in the back zippered pocket of my Lulu jacket and had the headphones come up around my back.  That way I didn’t have to worry about holding or dropping my iPhone and also didn’t have to worry about headphone strings flying around in front of me. Plus the jacket is snug enough that it didn’t let the iPhone bounce around when I ran.

What should I have on my Playlist? I got a few suggestions from people and realized that running music is highly subjective.  What gets one person moving may not motivate another in the slightest.  So I used some of the suggestions I received but mostly just stuck to songs I already had on my iPhone.  When I run I need uptempo songs that put me in a good mood or bring back memories.  If a song comes on and I want to break out into song or dance then it’s going to motivate me to run.  If there’s no words, can’t do it.  It could have the best beat ever for running but if I don’t connect to the song it’s not going to get me going.  Though the first two are slightly embarrassing they are songs that kind of make me laugh and always put me in a good mood.  So judge me all you want but I like them! I also have a much longer list then I needed but I wasn’t entirely sure how long the 5k would take me.  I’d rather have more music than not enough! So here is my list:

  1. Dirrty – Christina Aguilera
  2. Toxic – Britney Spears
  3. Suddenly I See – KT Tunstell
  4. Harder to Breathe – Maroon 5 (I placed this one about the time I would probably be getting a bit out of breathe mostly for the smile factor…it worked)
  5. That’s Not My Name – The Ting Tings
  6. Rolling In the Deep – Adele
  7. Dog Days Are Over – Florence + The Machine (definitely one of my new fave running songs! Thanks Jilion)
  8. Legend of a Cowgirl – Imani Coppola
  9. I Will Survive – Cake
  10. Here We Go Again – Everclear
  11. Semi-Charmed Life – Third Eye Blind
  12. Sex on Fire – Kings of Leon
  13. Monkey Wrench – Foo Fighters

So there you have it! All your first time running questions answered in one place! Ok maybe not, but perhaps now you won’t feel as weird asking your own newbie questions on YOUR first race? Picked up a new song for your running list? Have this crazy urge to run to Lululemon? Either way…you’re welcome.  🙂

About Leesa D

Wife and mom of two crazy little monkeys. Trying to take on life's everyday challenges with love, laughter and a lot of impromptu dance parties!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Answers to the Pre Race Freak Out Questions

  1. Jae says:

    Your playlist’s interesting! I hope you don’t mind, I’d like to build a playlist like yours. Thank you for sharing! 🙂

    • Leesa D says:

      While it wasnt my “perfect” playlist it definitely worked for the race. I always find it interesting to see what people run to and am always looking for new songs. So please share when you come up with your playlist!

I love comments! So tell me what you think!

