Surviving the Invasion of the Chocolate Bunny

Easter has come and gone once again.  I always get a little bit nervous around holidays because I know that I lack self control in the eating department.  I’ll go in with good intentions but always end up over eating.  I’ll have “just one” treat which turns into two, then four, then before you know it I’ve eaten a whole bowl of chocolate eggs, devoured a chocolate bunny’s head and torso and then…well why stop there…bye bye bunny. And then of course there’s always the Easter feast full of good food like glazed ham, mashed potatoes, gravy, sweet potato casserole and all the extra delicious and not necessarily good for you foods that I don’t often get. And since I don’t get them often I tend to stuff myself full enough that you’d think it was my last meal…ever.  So this is what I was trying to avoid this year.

Well, I am very happy to report that this year I made it through:

  1. Without stuffing myself so full of the Easter feast that I needed to switch to maternity pants
  2. Without eating a single chocolate egg or any part of a chocolate bunny
  3. Without straying from my clean eating plan
  4. Feeling completely satisfied

I know, I know, you probably think I must be some kind of super hero with super will power right? 😉 Well, I made it through by hosting the Easter dinner myself this year! I always say I want to host a holiday meal for the family but am usually not on the ball enough to actually make it happen.  But finally, I made it work. And I have to say that it was a lot easier than I expected.  I was hosting dinner for 12 adults and 2 kids so I tried to keep the dishes as simple as possible and prepped what I could ahead of time.

I have two crockpots so I was excited to find out I could cook both my ham and sweet potatoes in the crockpot and then use the oven for my roasted potatoes.  The asparagus was done on the stove top so none of the food was competing for cooking time/space.  In the end I felt dinner for 14 was way too easy and I should throw some flour on my face and mess up my hair or something to make it look like I slaved over the stove.

I really wanted to keep everything as “clean” as possible.  Turns out it’s a lot harder than expected to find a ham that’s not full of nitrates etc.  So I had to make do with what I could find and opted for the one without any glaze or sugar.  Other then that I think the meal would meet clean eating standards.

Here’s my menu:

Honey & Thyme Glazed Ham

Garlic Roasted Potatoes

Asparagus with Balsamic Tomatoes

Coconut Cardamom Sweet Potatoes

Chocolate Banana Freezer Pie

Mixed Berry Pie

My sister in law also brought over a fabulous salad, my mom provided a veggie tray and whole wheat buns.

I think everyone enjoyed the meal for the most part, I know I sure did! Of course when you are feeding 14 people you are bound to make things that won’t suit everyone’s tastes.  But as far as I know no one left hungry!

I knew that there would still be chocolate treats brought over so I tried to offer alternatives so I didn’t feel the need to indulge. I also asked the family to please refrain from bringing baskets full of chocolate over for the kids and me. If I’m not left with a bunch of chocolate, then I won’t feel the need to eat said chocolate!

For the most part, everyone listened to my chocolate free requests and we had much less chocolate brought over for the kids than usual. Of course there was a bag of chocolate eggs hanging out on the coffee table that everyone sat around and ate.  But, honestly I really wasn’t even that tempted by it.  I’ve been avoiding sugar for awhile now and I definitely don’t feel the same urge to gorge myself on it that I used to. I was satisfied from my meal and then enjoyed my clean eating desserts afterwards without feeling guilty or overstuffed.

All in all I would consider Easter dinner a success! And I think I showed that it’s possible to have a yummy holiday meal without straying from clean eating. So instead of sitting around complaining about stuffed tummies we were free to sit around and enjoy each others company…and the wine of course. 🙂

Do you tend to overindulge over the holidays? What are your favorite healthy foods or tips to help stay on track?

About Leesa D

Wife and mom of two crazy little monkeys. Trying to take on life's everyday challenges with love, laughter and a lot of impromptu dance parties!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I love comments! So tell me what you think!

