The True North Strong and Free

20120702-143131.jpg
Yesterday was Canada Day. A day that, I’m not going to lie, I tend to take for granted. As I went for my morning run I started to think about my country and how fortunate I am to live where I do. How incredibly blessed I am to have the rights and freedoms that I have. And how easy it is to take for granted everything we have at our fingertips.

As I ran down the beautiful paths in my neighborhood, my safe and secure neighborhood, I just got this overwhelming sense of thankfulness for all that I have. As I ran, I just had to thank God for the blessings he has given me in my life. My family, my friends, my country, my health, my safety, all of my needs are always taken care of. I really have never wanted for anything. I live in a country where as a woman I can do whatever I want to do. I have no fear of persecution. I’ve never wondered where my next meal would come from. I have the resources to fuel my body with good wholesome foods. I have the ability to take care of my body with exercise whether through running, classes, however I choose! I am blessed beyond belief and I take that for granted far too often.

Sometimes those of us with all the freedom tend to be the unhappiest, the ones least grateful. We get this sense of entitlement, this need for bigger and better things, and forget to just pause and be thankful for all that is in front of us.

So I went for this run reflecting on my many blessings and I can’t even tell you how happy and refreshed I was when I got home. It was one of those runs that just set the tone for the whole day. And it really was a great day!

I watched as my children ran around laughing and playing with no cares in the world. I went for a Canada Day BBQ and celebrated with friends. I ended the day sitting with my husband and just enjoying the life and the love I have with him.

We live in an amazing county. Let’s not get so caught up in the petty things. Instead let’s try to remind ourselves daily all that we have in front of us.

O Canada, remember how truly strong and free you are!

About Leesa D

Wife and mom of two crazy little monkeys. Trying to take on life's everyday challenges with love, laughter and a lot of impromptu dance parties!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I love comments! So tell me what you think!

