My Week of Getting ‘Er Done!

This week has been a week of accomplishments.  A week of mommy time.  A week of happiness, motivation and something especially crazy for a mom…a week with 15 extra hours!  Where did I dig up this extra time you ask?  Good question. I was able to send both my kids off to day camp for a week! Can you believe it? Both kids! Not just my 4 year old daughter, but my 3 year old son was able to go as well! So here I am, kidless for 3 hours a day for 5 whole days!!!!  I know all the moms are jealous. 😉

At first my thought was, how in the world will I fill my days? So much can be accomplished in that amount of time when you aren’t stopping every 2 minutes to wipe a nose, help someone to the bathroom, make a snack, clean a mess, stop a fight etc. etc.  Well here I am 3 days in and I will tell you the time sure does fly. *sigh*

Day 1 was full of energy!  I slept in instead of waking up for my early run.  (For those without children sleeping in does not mean noon.  I’m talking 7am.) Then I dropped the kids off and headed out for a great interval run. Normally when I go for a morning run I have to plan it out good so that the 40 minute (or whatever I’m doing that day) brings me right back home in that time.  I don’t leave much time to spare.  I’m out the door and back just in time for my hubby to head out to work.

So not having to worry so much about my route and just running was fantastic!  Made for a very enjoyable start to my kid-cation.  I love the feeling after a run so having those endorphins going and then knowing that I still had 2 hours left was a wonderful feeling. Then it was home time and the start of Operation Clean Machine.  I attacked the house with a vengeance and managed to get the majority of the house cleaned.  Again, amazing how much faster things can be done when you can just turn on the music and not worry about little interruptions!  Of course within about 5 minutes of the kids being home you’d never even realize I cleaned. *double sigh*

Day 2 was errands and appointments.  I was able to drive across the city, hit two stores and have a 40 minute appointment .  In that amount of time with kids I would be able to ask the kids to get their shoes on 10 times, take their shoes off and put them on the right feet, get the kids in the car, wait for them to buckle themselves, take them back in the house to go potty, buckle them again and make it to one store where I would break up 5 fights and end up leaving seriously frustrated and without buying anything.  I’d then go to my appointment where the kids would touch every single thing in the doctors office, start screaming for my attention while the doctor/nurse was trying to talk to me and I would then have a breakdown and start crying.  I’m not exaggerating at all. It’s seriously happened.

Day 3 was a record breaking day.  I’ve always wanted to run down by the river but never get a chance as I like to go early in the morning and don’t have the time (or desire) to drive anywhere.  So I thought I would take advantage of another sleep in day and head down by the river for my run today.  What a fantastic idea! I was loving it! The change of scenery, seeing so many other faces enjoying the path, and most of all…the lack of hills. I originally went out to do a 45 min steady run but after realizing that I was going much faster then normal I decided to try and finally do a 5k in under 30 which has been one of my goals for awhile. I decided to just push myself and go for the goal.

Well, I’m super excited to say…I DID IT!  I ran 5k in 28:55. Amazing what you can do with the absence of hills 🙂 After stopping to catch my breath and trying not to fall over I did a slow walk/jog for another 2 km.  I was so ecstatic to have made that goal.  The rest of my kid free time was filled with happy dances, giant smiles and of course showering.  Just because I had a great run does not mean I should put the other unsuspecting day camp moms through the torture of my sweaty mess.

So what will the next two days hold? 6 more hours of kid free time. The possibilities are endless.  So much could be accomplished.  Or I could just curl up and finish Mockingjay…

What would you do with all that extra kid free time?

About Leesa D

Wife and mom of two crazy little monkeys. Trying to take on life's everyday challenges with love, laughter and a lot of impromptu dance parties!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Week of Getting ‘Er Done!

  1. Kristi says:

    And you found time to write this while having 3 kids in the house!!! Super Mom!!!!

    • Leesa D says:

      Super Mom I am not. But after getting a few needed things done, I just decided there was no use cleaning anymore while I had three children tearing up the house. Might as well chill out for a bit! 🙂

I love comments! So tell me what you think!

