Families That Race Together

Yesterday was a day I’ve been looking forward to for quite some time. A day that I knew would be a big sigh of relief. A day followed by many more days of relaxation and family fun. Yesterday was the first day of my husbands summer vacation time!! Woo hoo! I now have my husband home for 17 days!!!

We thought that doing a family run would be a great way to start our vacation so run we did! Ok, so perhaps my 5 year old daughter and I were a bit more keen on the idea than my husband. But after forcing requesting that he buy a new pair of running shoes and kicking his butt encouraging him to start running again, he came around 😉

The run we signed up for was in a neighboring community. As it was their first year doing this run it was a very small crowd and very relaxed atmosphere. I think it was the perfect race for our first family run.

As Ayla has been just itching to do another race she was very excited that she would be able to run longer this time. Once again she did great and was all smiles. However I think she was a little too excited and got cramps just before the 1k mark and decided to jump in the stroller with her brother.

Both kids were happy as can be getting their free ride during the race. They were ultra cute yelling out words of encouragement and telling us to “run faster!!” throughout the race.

As Peter is the type of person that could probably just decide to run a half marathon without any training, I decided that it would be his job to push the stroller with the 80lbs of weight inside. I felt a tiny bit bad when I saw the hills we had to run up. But after realizing he still wasn’t struggling and could still run a lot faster than me if I let him, I decided that there was no need to feel bad. Ugh, men…

We finished the race in about 31:30 which I thought was decent for an uphill both ways race. Definitely was not going for a PB and was just in it for the experience with my little fam.
20120819-224112.jpg
After the race they did face painting, balloon animals and had some draws. Our family won a $30 gift certificate to Chianti, and 2 sets of golf balls. Not bad for a $15/team race!!
>20120819-224129.jpg

20120819-224141.jpg

20120819-224158.jpg
What made me happiest about this race? The fact that we did it as a family. The fact that my daughter is so excited about running and staying active “just like Mommy”. That Peter and I were able to set an example for the kids of a fun and healthy lifestyle.

Our kids are always watching us and learning by example. I want to give them a strong foundation with good healthy habits so they don’t have to deal with the same unhealthy issues I struggled with all my life.

The encouragement I receive from my kids to keep going and to “run faster!!” is fantastic. They don’t care if I’m first or last, they just want me to keep moving, to never give up. Funny how the lessons I want to teach them end up being the ones they teach me….

What healthy activities do you like to do as a family?

About Leesa D

Wife and mom of two crazy little monkeys. Trying to take on life's everyday challenges with love, laughter and a lot of impromptu dance parties!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Families That Race Together

  1. Pingback: Run For Your Children: Heart Beats Race Results | HealthHappinessHumour

I love comments! So tell me what you think!

