Camping: Plan, Relax & Enjoy

20120822-120008.jpg

My family and I love to go camping. Spending time together in the great outdoors free of the everyday distractions (ok,ok, I’m still blogging but that is actually relaxing and enjoyable to me). Enjoying the slower pace where we can sit by the lake, hike through the woods or just sit and read a book while the kids ride their bikes. Yes, camping is definitely one of my favorite parts of summer.

It used to be that my camping menu consisted of burgers or hot dogs, pork & beans, chips and pop. Repeat for as many nights as needed. It wasn’t uncommon for us to go a whole weekend of camping without any fruit or veggies. Well that just doesn’t cut it anymore!

So is it possible to have a great, relaxed camping trip while still sticking to the plan and not letting go of your healthy lifestyle? Absolutely! All it takes is a little planning.

Before we head out for a trip my husband and I like to sit down and create a menu and grocery list on a spreadsheet. Now that we have a few menus created we can just copy and paste the foods we want along with the corresponding grocery list. This makes things ultra easy when we are actually out camping so I never have to worry about not having the right kinds of foods/snacks while we are away. It’s always easier to stay on plan when you do actually HAVE a plan.

So what kind of foods do we eat? Well my camping foods are much like my everyday foods. My favorite breakfast is a Brown Rice Protein Pancake topped with a bit of plain organic yogurt and 1 cup of berries.

For lunch I love having a big salad like this Mediterranean Tuna Medley from one of my favorite blogs, Busy But Healthy. I make up the dressing beforehand and then just dump everything in a big bowl, have a side of leftover quinoa or Thin Cakes and enjoy! Mmmm.

Supper is usually homemade turkey burgers (I usually skip the bun) or chicken, a nice salad and some roasted zucchini, mushrooms and peppers. I also like to cook extra meat at this time and save it for the next days lunch.

Since I always eat 6 times a day, having healthy snacks on hand is ultra important. I usually bring apples and almond butter, Larabars, or these ultra delicious Snickerdoodle Blondies from another one of my favorite sites, DAMY Health.

And S’mores? Well some camping traditions just have to stick. The kids love them and I just can’t let go of them just yet. 🙂 I usually indulge in one or two with some delicious dark chocolate. Nom nom nom…

Camping doesn’t have to be a food free for all in order to be fun. Make a plan, stick to it and enjoy your time in the great outdoors without coming home to the post camping bloat.

What are your favorite camping foods?

About Leesa D

Wife and mom of two crazy little monkeys. Trying to take on life's everyday challenges with love, laughter and a lot of impromptu dance parties!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I love comments! So tell me what you think!

