Getting Back To Business

When I started this blog I wanted it to be about accountability.  I wanted to be able to share the good, the bad and the ugly.  To go through this challenge of health and fitness knowing that it wasn’t all good, but not letting those bad times take up permanent residence in my life.

I’ve been avoiding writing this post, probably because if I don’t speak about it then it’s not true, right? If I keep ignoring the gross feeling, the tight pants and the scale then it will just magically go back to the way it was. But it’s time for some accountability.  Time to get real and get back to business.

I’ve been a bad, bad girl. (anybody else hearing Fiona Apple in their head now? No? Just me?)  Anyway, I’ve been bad.  I pretty much did exactly what I said I wouldn’t do.  My eating went downhill, my exercise is definitely not where I want it to be, my waistline is expanding and I just don’t feel awesome like I did before. Ugh.  But this is not a self pity post! Oh no! This is just me, being honest so we can kick these bad habits out.

Now, don’t get me wrong, I didn’t go straight to cheese puffs and Big Macs. I have still stuck mainly to my clean eating habits. I haven’t gone completely off the deep end here. But there have definitely been more treats sneaking in. I could even blame it on Amy Layne and all her amazing treat recipes like this Raw Oreo Ice Cream Sandwich.  Dang that girl comes up with killer recipes!!!  But of course that’s not fair either since she also has a ton of healthy and delicious snack recipes like my favorite, Snickerdoodle Blondies.

The problem is me and my self control.  One healthy treat is good, three or four is not.  So here’s what I am going to do:

  • Start watching portion sizes.
  • Stop nibbling whenever I go in the pantry.
  • Stop giving myself permission to have treats every night of the week.
  • Start drinking 2-3L of water everyday.
  • Start eating and exercising according to the DAMY Lifestyle Plan
  • Come up with a really good goal to keep me motivated. (I’d love some help brainstorming this one!)

And I’m starting right NOW!

How do you get yourself back on track once you’ve strayed? What kind of goal keeps you motivated?

About Leesa D

Wife and mom of two crazy little monkeys. Trying to take on life's everyday challenges with love, laughter and a lot of impromptu dance parties!
This entry was posted in fitness, health, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Getting Back To Business

  1. Curly Carly says:

    Good luck! You can do it!!

  2. Molly says:

    Thank you for being a major factor in me getting my journey to being fit back on track! I’m looking forward to reading more from you!

I love comments! So tell me what you think!

