Run For Your Children: Heart Beats Race Results

My heart is full of love and pride for my family. Yesterday my whole family participated in the Heart Beats Family Fun Run. This was Peter’s first 5k (not counting the Family Fun Run where he pushed a stroller and ran at MY pace), and it was Izak’s first 1k. Ayla is already a pro with the Run for Women already under her belt. 😉

The kids have been talking about this race for about a month. Ever since we told them that they were signed up. Their “very best friend” and running buddy, Keenan, who lives two doors down was also signed up for the race which made it extra special for them. This last week was a countdown and every time they would see each other it would be shouts of “3 more sleeps until the race!!!” “See you tomorrow at the race!!!”. I’m surprised they even slept at all as it seemed almost as exciting as Christmas to them.

Peter, on the other hand, could have used a little more enthusiasm. He doesn’t get the same nervous jitters that I do (see Pre-Race Freak Out Time) and apparently doesn’t share in the excitement either. When I asked if he was excited for the race, all I got out of him was “I guess…”. Party pooper.

But I didn’t let his ho hum attitude get me down! Oh no, I was very excited! I was excited that my whole family was joining me in my love of running. That all of us were going to be running our own race. No strollers this time. No holding back. Each of us just getting out there and pushing our own limits and being proud of what we could do.

I knew Peter would do awesome. He’s the type of person that knows how to push himself to the max. He’s never even run outside by himself.  When he started running, he would just jump on the treadmill at home while I would go for my morning run outside.  Because apparently it’s frowned upon to leave your small children at home by themselves. 😛 He also doesn’t really like running by himself. Whenever he’s had a chance to head outsdide for a run, we have been going together.  He is a much faster runner than I am, so running at my speed really wasn’t able to help him judge how fast he could actually do this race. He told me before the race that he was going for a time of 27 min. I kind of laughed to myself at this because I knew he’d kill that time. And of course he did. He finished in a time of 22:24 and came in 1st for his category. Not bad for a 1st timer (and old timer)!! 😉

My goal for this race was to make it under 30 min. That was my original goal when running my very first 5k but I never could quite pull it off. But this time I knew I could do it. Especially on a flat course. But I also knew I’d have to really push myself.

I find it really is a head game with me. The first k is usually pretty tough and by 3k I want to slow down and relax a little.  But I kept repeating my favorite mantra “Your legs are not giving out, your head is giving out.” And I also just kept telling myself that this was a sprint.  This was not a long distance run.  If I can do 10K I can pick up the pace for 5K.  And if I’m going to do a half marathon then I can most certainly get out there and push myself to make 5k under 30. Around the 3k mark the new addition to my running playlist, “Till I Collapse” by Eminem, came on.  Definitely helped keep my head in the game!  It was a tough run,  but I gave it my all and I’m proud to say I finished with a time of 26:45! I was 3rd in my category and 17th of the 140 women in the race. I couldn’t have been happier.

Rare moment of them standing still. Cheering on all the runners!

And the kids….oh the kids. Have to say watching them was the cutest thing ever. Honestly I’m surprised they didn’t collapse before the race even started though. We got to the course about 1/2 hour before the 5k race started. About an hour and a half before the kid’s started their 1k. All three children did not stop running during this time. They did laps around the mall, then raced each other outside. When we warned them about saving their energy for the race they switched to skipping instead. When that got boring, it was back to running! There was no slowing these kids down!!

Keenan is a fast kid. He always wins the races the kids have in front of the house or at the park. So In order to avoid melt downs and upset feelings I made sure to have a few talks with my kids beforehand. I wanted them to be prepared for other kids (including their friend) to run faster then them. I especially stressed this to Izak who at 3, has much shorter legs and has a much harder time keeping up to the older kids. He also doesn’t always do well when he’s left behind.

The conversation would go like this:

Me: So, Izak, Ayla and Keenan might run a lot faster than you…
Izak: I know.
Me: And it’s ok if you don’t come in first right?
Izak: Yup, I know.
Me: And what happens if you come in very last place?
Izak: It’s ok cause we are all still winners.

That’s my boy. I’m always trying to stress that in running we just need to do our best. Whether you are first or last as long as you know you ran the best race YOU can run, that’s all that matters. Melts my heart that for once he actually listened to me.

So how DID they do? Well they don’t time the kids, which at this age I think is best. But all three kids ran an amazing race. They ran the whole way and crossed the finish line with determination and big smiles. So proud of all of them.

I just can’t get over how happy and proud I am that we are now a family of runners. If you would have asked me last year if I would ever run a 5k the answer would have been a resounding, NO! Peter always said he wasn’t a runner and never enjoyed it so I didn’t think he’d ever get out there for a race.  But he’s slowly started to see the light. And the kids? Well I never would have imagined they would love it as much as I do. After this race Ayla commented “Mom, that wasn’t long enough. I want to do a 2k!” Hmmm I think she’s hooked!

My little running family!

We set an example every day for our kids. They watch us. They do what we do. Not only is getting out there and being active (and enjoying it) good for YOU, but it’s also setting the best example of a healthy lifestyle for your kids. You are never too old, it’s never too late.  So let’s turn off the TV, set aside the video games and get outside and enjoy a healthy lifestyle with our kids!

About Leesa D

Wife and mom of two crazy little monkeys. Trying to take on life's everyday challenges with love, laughter and a lot of impromptu dance parties!
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Run For Your Children: Heart Beats Race Results

  1. Shannon says:

    So cool!! Nice job, family!! 🙂

  2. sherry says:

    don’t know why I keep reading your posts…I hate crying.
    can’t wait till the next one.

  3. Mom says:

    Great job all of you! Love the action shots of kids.

I love comments! So tell me what you think!

