GymPact: A Monetary Motivator

If you know me at all, you know I love my apps! I rarely never go anywhere without my iPhone and pretty much have an app for everything. You will also know that I love running and hitting up the gym. So imagine my excitement when I found GymPact, an app that will actually pay me money to workout! I mean really? I do the things I love to do and you’ll pay me for it? Sign me up!

I found out about GymPact when they linked to Runkeeper, my favourite running app. I love tracking all my runs through Runkeeper. I’m able to play my music through the app while I’m running and I set it to call out to me with my pace, distance and time throughout the run so I can keep myself on track. I can then check out all my stats online , set goals, check out my best times etc, and connect with friends. So when I heard that my Runkeeper workouts would automatically count towards my pact with GymPact, it was kind of a no brainer. I’m already running and hitting up the gym every week, so why wouldn’t I want to get some cash for that?

So how does it work? Every week you make a pact for how many times you are going to work out that week. I have been setting mine to 5 days per week which gives me a couple of days leeway if I miss a workout. Then you choose your stakes. Anywhere from $5 to $50 per missed workout. Whatever is going to motivate you to hit the gym. If you keep your pact and make all your workouts then you will get paid at the end of the week. But miss a day or two…or three…then you pay whatever stakes you set at the beginning of the week. Motivation to get your butt moving outside or to the gym right?!

So what counts as a workout? A workout has to be 30 minutes in length. So check into your favourite gym through your GymPact app and you are good to go. And don’t think you can just check in and get out of dodge. Oh no, it uses GPS so you have to be at that location for 30 minutes or it doesn’t count. So technically you could go to your gym and sit around chatting it up with one of the hotties, not lift one weight and it would still count. But you aren’t that lame. You are going to work your butt off for at least 30 minutes, right?

The other way to track a workout is to simply use your Runkeeper app. All workouts logged through Runkeeper will automatically link to GymPact and count towards your pact. Now of course there are a few stipulations as to what counts as a workout.

  1. It has to be 30 minutes. If you do 5k in under 30..then do an extra cool down. Just make sure it’s 30 minutes in length or it does not count.
  2. You have to use GPS. If you are doing a treadmill run, it won’t count. Unless of course you are at the gym.
  3. You have to go at least 2 miles/hour.

So run, walk, bike, rollerblade, whatever your heart desires. As long as you turn your Runkeeper on and it meets the above criteria it will count towards your pact.

So how much do you get paid to keep your pact? Well that depends on a few things. The money you get paid comes from all those people who make pacts and don’t keep them. But you aren’t going to be one of those people right? You are going to be one of the people on the receiving end of the money! Because YOU will keep your pact! (But be sure to sign up all your rich friends that like to make big commitments and not keep them. That’s money in your pocket baby!! 😉 ) All the money from the missed pacts (after GymPact takes their portion) is then split among those that kept their pact Also, the more days you committed to, the more you will be paid. With 5 days a week as my pact, I have been getting between $2-3 per week. Not enough to declare it a new career, but keep going and it will be enough to help contribute to my ever-growing running wardrobe 🙂 So far I’ve made $21.50. And that’s just for doing something I would do anyway. Not bad, right?

The only downside I’m finding right now is the fact that it’s winter (at least the snow and below 0 temperatures make it feel like winter). And when it’s cold outside I don’t always like to get my butt outside to workout. I do own a treadmill and have been doing my running inside but of course that doesn’t count towards my pact. But what I’ve found is that it just forces me to get outdoors for some fresh air. And there really isn’t any excuse for me not get outside for a 30 minute walk. I can head out and explore with the kids, throw the kids in the stroller for a walk if they are too cold, or go for a nice family walk after dinner. Having GymPact has forced me to get that extra 30 minutes in quite a few days. So even though I don’t love the cold weather, I do love that GymPact has helped me overcome some of my excuses and get outside to exercise anyway.

So there you have it! My new favourite app! Hopefully it can help motivate you as well and maybe make you a little bitter of moolah in the process.

What motivates YOU to get out the door and exercise?

About Leesa D

Wife and mom of two crazy little monkeys. Trying to take on life's everyday challenges with love, laughter and a lot of impromptu dance parties!
This entry was posted in fitness, My Favourite Things and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to GymPact: A Monetary Motivator

  1. Erin says:

    Hi! im totally loving your blog!

    I’ve been nominated for Liebster Award and wanted to pay it forward by nominating your blog for one too!

    The Rules:
    1. Each person must post 11 things about themselves.
    2. Answer the 11 questions the person giving the award has set for you.
    3. Create 11 questions for the people you will be giving the award to.
    4. Choose 11 people to award and send them a link to your post. Go to their page and tell them.
    5. No tag backs.

    Happy blogging!

    http://happierhealthiermorefitme.com/2012/10/29/the-liebster-award/

I love comments! So tell me what you think!

