Use It or Lose It

I was doing a little cleaning today. (For those of you that know me you can take the look of shock off you face now and keep reading). As I was saying, I was doing a little cleaning today and started moving around the piles of fancy soaps, lotions, scrubs etc that I’ve received as gifts over the years. As I was putting them back in their place I thought, what the heck am I doing?! I have all these beautiful smelling, make-my-skin-feel-great products and yet I never use them. I’m “saving” them. For what?

Why do I keep this collection going? Am I enjoying them as they sit there and take up space on my shelf? No, I’m actually sick of cleaning around them. When my friends and family bought these gifts for me did they have hopes of me putting them on a shelf so that one day, years down the road, I could enjoy a lovely bath? I’m guessing, no. Why do I feel that I don’t deserve the “treat” of them right now?

For you it may not be soaps, perhaps it’s the “good” dishes, that special outfit, bottle of wine, or those words you’ve wanted to say but are saving for that extra special time. But I say, life’s too short to be saving all the good stuff!

I’ve had outfits for the kids that I’ve saved and now they don’t fit. Dishes kept for that special time that were then moved from one spot to another and broken. Products not used that then went bad. And words not spoken that now I never can.

I’d rather not spend my life sitting around waiting for the perfect time anymore. Cause guess what? It’s life. There’s no such thing as a perfect time for anything. So why not make every day special? After all, you never know how many more days you have left to enjoy it. Wouldn’t you rather use it than regret losing it?
20121103-123150.jpg
Seize the day, enjoy the moment. Open up the good bottle of wine this evening just for the heck of it. And while you are at it, use the good dishes and then take a hot bubble bath using all your fancy stuff. And if there’s someone you’ve been waiting to talk to, sit down and talk or pick up the phone, write a letter, whatever you need to do.

As for me I quickly unwrapped last years Christmas soap and put it in my shower before I changed my mind. Phew! It’s a start. Baby steps…

What’s that one thing that you’re saving for a special time?

About Leesa D

Wife and mom of two crazy little monkeys. Trying to take on life's everyday challenges with love, laughter and a lot of impromptu dance parties!
This entry was posted in Happiness and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Use It or Lose It

  1. Curly Carly says:

    Loved this post! I, too, have tons of fancy soaps sitting around that I feel like I’m not allowed to use. Great example of how many of us don’t make enough of an effort to enjoy life. I might just take a nice bubble bath tonight 🙂

I love comments! So tell me what you think!

