BodyCombat: A Non-Violent Way To Kick Some Booty

20121112-091709.jpg

I’ll admit it, I’ve always kind of been a wimp. I’m a non-violent person. I’ve never been in a fight, which is actually kind of surprising considering how lippy I was (and sometimes still am). And even in my dreams when I would get into a fight I could never quite connect a hit. I’d be attacked, I’d go to hit the other person and right before I’d connect with their jaw my arm would go in slow motion and I’d barely tap their chin. So frustrating!!! I guess I just wasn’t born a fighter. This is not such a bad thing. My brothers more than compensate in that area. šŸ˜›

But sometimes I just have aggression I need to get out! Sometimes I just want to FEEL tough. Sometimes I just want to be the badass, kick some booty type of chick that I’ve never been. I want to feel like, if needed, I could take care of myself. And that’s where BodyCombat comes in. *Play Rocky them*

If you have never been to a GoodLife BodyCombat Class then you must go! Like right now. Stop what you are doing. Just go. Now. Ok, so maybe you can finish reading this blog first. This is seriously my absolutely favorite new class. I went there thinking that perhaps finally I could just get in a good workout. I’ve been having some back issues again lately and haven’t had a really good sweat session in awhile. So I thought I’d give it a shot and do the best that I could do. Well, workout I did! I left feeling completely pumped up! I felt strong. I felt energized. I felt like a total badass. My muscles were on fire. The sweat was dripping. I felt like I whooped some serious booty! Oh yeah, it felt gooooooood!

The class is a mix of karate, boxing, taekwondo, tai chi and muay thai. A little rusty in the martial arts category? No worries. The instructor was awesome at calling out all the moves, and explaining what we were doing. Best of all? She would call out what area on our opponent we were aiming for. I loved this as it really made you visualize what you were doing with the moves. I’m not just randomly punching air now. Oh no, I’m now grabbing him behind the neck and giving him a knee to the face! Boom!! Ok, so perhaps that sounded slightly violent. But I swear, it just makes you feel stronger, punch harder and push through the pain longer.

So, I’m not going to be hitting the streets fighting crime anytime soon, joining fight club (at least I’d never talk about it) or punching the guy that cut me off in traffic. But I do feel a little stronger, a little more confident, a little more badass. Enough that I think I can finally take on that attacker in my dream now (I swear he doesn’t stand a chance). And I want that feeling to last so I’ll be putting a permanent spot in my calendar for BodyCombat.

What’s your favorite way to workout? Weights? Cardio? Or a favorite class?

About Leesa D

Wife and mom of two crazy little monkeys. Trying to take on life's everyday challenges with love, laughter and a lot of impromptu dance parties!
This entry was posted in fitness and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to BodyCombat: A Non-Violent Way To Kick Some Booty

  1. Becky says:

    I love when someone gets my love for Combat! The best is the punching him on the ground! (I am not sure if you have done it yet but the “With my fist in your face, and your face on the floor… you got the message now??” song has to be the best one for this!)

I love comments! So tell me what you think!

