Half Marathon Plans in Motion

It’s official, there’s no turning back.  My goal has been set, my race has been chosen. I am now officially registered for the BMO Vancouver Half Marathon.  EEEKKKK!! I’m seriously sitting here all nervous and excited and just in shock that I actually signed up. It’s just a little too real now.

After looking at a few different races I decided to choose this one for a couple reasons:

Location. I wanted my first half marathon to be a destination trip.  How much more fun is it to train for a race when you know you get a trip out of it as well?! I get to run somewhere I’ve never ran before, see some new sights and maybe even get in a little shopping. 🙂  I’m also hoping that this location provides a little advantage for me since I’ll be training in Calgary at 3500′ and running the race in Vancouver at sea level.

Timing.  I didn’t want to do anything too late in the summer because I don’t do too well running in extreme heat. Race day is May 5 so hopefully it will be nice but not too hot. But seeing as how it is Vancouver I probably have a much higher chance of being rained on throughout the race.  Meh, I can live with that!

Course. I also liked this race because I’m told the course is beautiful.  I asked a few of my running friends and this one came highly recommended as a first half.  It’s a downhill start, but not a loop so no running back up that hill!  I get to run through Stanley Park, breathe in ocean air and run all through beautiful Vancouver. I’m pumped!

And the best part of it all? I’m making a girl’s trip out of it!!! So far I have three of my gorgeous friends joining me (not officially registered…but they are not getting out of it!! ;)) and we may even have some more coming along.  This will be the first half marathon for three of us and then we have one veteran with a few under her belt. I’m so excited to have such awesome support for this adventure and can’t wait for all of us to complete this goal together.

Bring on the sweat, tears and sore muscles!!

About Leesa D

Wife and mom of two crazy little monkeys. Trying to take on life's everyday challenges with love, laughter and a lot of impromptu dance parties!
This entry was posted in fitness, Running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Half Marathon Plans in Motion

  1. Mary says:

    Sounds like a great first half marathon! I might be making a trip to Vancouver next summer and hope to get a race (or a run at the very least) in while I am there because it’s such a beautiful city.

  2. Jenn Lockhart says:

    That is awesome! So proud of you!

I love comments! So tell me what you think!

