Recap: First 3 Weeks of Training

So far I’ve been pretty good about posting my goals, but not so good about updating on how they are going.  I’m trying to get better with that one! So I am hoping to give more regular updates on my half marathon training.  Not only will this help me with posting more regularly, but I also think this will help keep me in line.  If I know that I’m going to have to hang my head in shame because I missed training, I’m more likely to give myself a kick in the butt and get running.

So here we go! I just completed my third week of half marathon training.  You know what that means? Only 20 more weeks of kicking my butt until the race! 😛  I’m pretty happy with how things have been going so far.  I did missed one workout.  I happened to be in Banff for the weekend during my first week of training. A little mini vacation with my fam, my sis and her family and my parents.  Of course being away isn’t an excuse so I definitely COULD have ran.  But instead I chose to stay up late playing games and then sleep in and spend more time with my family.  I can’t say I really regret it.  I loved my extra time with them.  Other than that one little slip in training I’ve made every run.

The program has me running every second day.  Right now I’m alternating between steady runs, interval runs and sprints.  My training so far has mostly been inside due to the weather and time of day when I’ve been able to fit my running in (I refuse to run in the dark on ice). I’ve recently discovered the indoor running track and it’s such a nice alternative to the treadmill! So I’ve mostly been alternating between the treadmill and track.  But yesterday, I was able to keep the treadmill tucked away, keep the car keys on the hook and head out into the great outdoors! And this was exactly what I needed.

My last few runs have once again been messing with my head.  My mental game has been a bit off and the nagging feeling of not being good enough kept creeping in.  My husband assured me that what I really needed was to get outside, get in a good run and I’d feel much better.  For once he was very right. (Don’t get used to that feeling Peter!!)

My run yesterday was a 6.4k.  No intervals to worry about, just a nice steady run.  So I planned out my route, turned on my music and just ran. I didn’t realize how much I really needed that run.  At about 2k I just  remembered what it feels like to be a runner.  I remembered why I fell in love with running in the first place. To be outside and just run, for nobody but myself.  Not to be fast, not to break records, but to think, clear my head and just enjoy that runner’s high. All of a sudden I was flooded with feelings of gratitude.  For some reason running always does that to me.  It makes me feel grateful for all that I have and all that I’m able to do.

that's the thing about running 500

So I came back from my run refreshed, renewed and once again looking forward to continuing on with this half marathon goal.  I know it’s going to continue to challenge me.  But if it wasn’t a challenge, then what would be the point, right?

About Leesa D

Wife and mom of two crazy little monkeys. Trying to take on life's everyday challenges with love, laughter and a lot of impromptu dance parties!
This entry was posted in fitness, Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Recap: First 3 Weeks of Training

  1. Brittany says:

    DO NOT stress if you miss a day!! I missed an entire week while training for my first half and I still did fine!! In fact I notice when I do take an extra day off it betters my body in the long run. Do what works best for you, but don’t over stress!! Awesome job, you are so close to this race I am so excited for you!

    • Leesa D says:

      Thanks Brittany! I’m trying not to stress about training. In fact that’s one of the reasons I chose a longer training program. That way if I miss here and there its ok cause I will still have been working hard for 6 months before the race! Thanks for the encouragement 🙂

I love comments! So tell me what you think!

