How To Sneak In Exercise Over The Holidays Without Missing Any Fun

IMG_4377

It’s Christmas time! Time for a break.  Time to relax with the family, share in the holiday goodies, drink a few too many eggnogs and wake up in January with a stomach big enough to audition for the part of Santa.

Ok so it’s the last part I’m trying to avoid.  This Christmas I’ve taken the no excuse approach to exercise.  I may be on holidays but that doesn’t mean I can’t get in some exercise.  In fact it’s even more incentive to get some exercise! I won’t feel nearly as guilty about the holiday treats if I’ve at least burned a few calories here and there.  I’m still planning on sticking with my half marathon training during the holidays but even if you don’t want to work out that much, a little exercise will go a long way.

But of course sometimes it’s hard to get in the mindset to exercise when there is so much relaxing, eating and fun games to be played.  How do you sneak in the exercise when you don’t want to miss out on the good stuff?  Here’s my suggestions on how to burn some calories over Christmas without missing out on any fun.

  1. Turn on a holiday movie and jump on the treadmill.  Watching at least one Christmas movie is always part of our holiday routine.  But how about getting up and walking or running on the treadmill for at least 30 minutes of the movie? You still get to enjoy the show but you’ll have burned enough calories to add a little something extra in your eggnog later. 😉
  2. Post dinner family walk.  You’ve eaten your 1st, 2nd or 3rd big turkey dinner and everybody is undoing their buttons and moaning and groaning about the amount of food they just consumed.  Why not bundle up and head outside for a family walk.  The fresh air and exercise will do wonders for those expanded bellies.
  3. Make a physical activity a new tradition.  This year I’ve been focused on creating new traditions for my family.  My kids are getting old enough that they will actually remember and appreciate traditions.  Why not make a  family skate or toboggan a fun family tradition? Not only are you sharing in a healthy tradition but everyone will love the memories created.
  4. Have a plank off for the honour of first present opened.  Have a competitive family? Why not have a “plank off” to decide who gets to open the first present!  My husbands family is always up for a little healthy competition.  So at Easter we all decided to have a plank off in my living room.  His parents, all the siblings and in laws were down on the floor to see who would win the planking competition.  My brother in law won with a plank of around 5 minutes I believe. It was quite amusing, fun and got a little ab workout in for everyone.
  5. Get in your yearly “C”.  The ladies I  used to work with always joked about the ABC’s of marriage.  The three times a year where you get a little action: Anniversary, Birthday and Christmas.  So have a little extra “holiday cheer”, and enjoy what I think is the most fun you can have in the physical exercise department.  Christmas is all about love, joy and giving right? 😉

Do you fit in exercise over the holidays? Or throw in the towel until the new year?

About Leesa D

Wife and mom of two crazy little monkeys. Trying to take on life's everyday challenges with love, laughter and a lot of impromptu dance parties!
This entry was posted in fitness, Happiness and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to How To Sneak In Exercise Over The Holidays Without Missing Any Fun

  1. Love your fun suggestions! Especially the family walk after dinner. That’s a great time to get the dogs out for some exercise too!

  2. I always wake up earlier than the rest of my family and get my work out in before anyone gets up! 😉

  3. Brittany says:

    I love all of these, I definitely did a lot of treadmill movie watching! Thankfully I survived the holiday and didn’t gain a pound.

    • Leesa D says:

      Dang you and your cupcake eating skinniness not gaining a pound!! 🙂 I was very good about keeping up with all my running/exercising and actually got outside a lot more than expected. But sadly, the exercise could not keep up with my overindulgences. Oh well, holidays are over on Monday and then I’ll get back to real life.

I love comments! So tell me what you think!

