Clean Eating at a Glance

If you are thinking of trying out clean eating but don’t know where to start, you are not alone. When I first inquired about this clean eating phenomenon I was a little skeptical and a little overwhelmed. Was I going to have to live off salad for the rest of my life? Is my food going to be tasteless? Is my husband going to be annoyed at me for cooking up bizarre meals?

After grabbing a couple of Tosca Reno’s books explaining clean eating and then grabbing The Best of Clean Eating cookbook, my fears quickly dissipated.

The rules of clean eating are pretty simple. Mainly, stay away from processed food and sugar. And the food in this cookbook? AHHH-MAZING! I’m pretty sure my husband was very pleased when I made the switch about a year ago. My best meals have been made from The Best of Clean Eating cookbooks.

So in order to help you out a bit I thought I’d just post a couple pics showing clean eating at a glance:

20130204-220840.jpg
Alright so I still enjoy my wine occasionally…

20130204-220923.jpg

If you are looking for some great clean eating recipes you can also follow me on Pinterest!

For more info on clean eating check out these websites:

If you aren’t ready to cut out everything just yet, don’t stress! Make small steps. Take out one thing at a time if that’s what works with you and your lifestyle. Big or small, just take a step towards a healthier you.

What is the one indulgence that you have a hard time letting go of?

About Leesa D

Wife and mom of two crazy little monkeys. Trying to take on life's everyday challenges with love, laughter and a lot of impromptu dance parties!
This entry was posted in health and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Clean Eating at a Glance

  1. alifecurated says:

    Sugar is the hardest thing to let go. But after a few weeks the cravings do subside.

    • Leesa D says:

      True! Sugar is a tough habit to kick but once you get past the first few weeks you are smooth sailing :). I also love that there are other alternatives to sugar that are clean. So it’s not as though you can’t indulge in a sweet treat while on a clean eating plan. Honey and pure maple syrup are my favourite alternatives!

  2. Curly Carly says:

    I just decided about a week ago that I should try to eat healthier for the sake of having more energy. For something that seems so simple to figure out, it’s kind of daunting. This gives me a good starting place, thanks!

    • Leesa D says:

      Eating clean will definitely help with your energy! Being prepared has been key for me. Plan menus and have a list of healthy snacks on your fridge so you don’t reach for the bad stuff. You’ll be a clean eating pro in no time ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. The phrases “clean eating” and “whole foods” always make me laugh. My bro and I had severe food allergies as kids and this is the way we were raised…homemade ketchup, homemade peanut butter, homemade marshmallows (we were kids! we needed some sugar! lol). Our hot dogs came from a health food store and we so free of preservatives that they would turn green after a few hours on the counter. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Thanks for posting the chart…great info.

  4. Brittany says:

    Sweets are my indulgence, but I make my own with “clean” ingredients. Sure they have sugar and oil (coconut!) but I know exactly what’s going in the mix!

I love comments! So tell me what you think!

