Half Marathon Happenings: Week 1 & 2

I’m baaaaaack. Yes I know I’m a bad little blogger. I could probably win the Most Inconsistent Blogger of the Year award. (Not to be confused with the Most Incontinent Blogger of the Year).

But I thought I might as well get back into the swing of things with my blogs because I’m back in more ways than one. Foot issue? Gone! I’m back up and running (literally) and feeling great. Ready to start this half marathon training once again. I’ve been running for about three weeks now. Very slowly at first. A couple 3k’s and a 5k the first week just to feel it out. What did I learn that first week?

  1. Not running for a month really made my cardio take a hit. A 3k felt like a 10k. Brutal.
  2. I hate running at the gym. I go to the gym in the wee hours of the morning and the shows they play at that time are enough to make me fall asleep while running. My options are sports (hate watching sports on tv), weather (there’s only so long you can stare at the forcast), and the GoodLife channel with random facts (occasionally interesting, but not for more than 5min). I also forgot my headphones the two times I tried running at the gym. Bad scene. Really bad scene.
  3. I really missed my outdoor runs.
  4. I was SO ready to get back in the game.

Since I had already made the goal and registered for the BMO Vancouver Half Marathon I was still really hoping to be able to complete that goal. So I was on the lookout for a 10 week half marathon training plan. Turns out these aren’t as easy to come by. And if they were they were pretty brutal. They seemed to be more suited to someone who had been running longer distances for awhile. I really wanted something that was going to ease me into things as I didn’t want to injure myself once again. And I also didn’t want to be running six days a week. That’s just not realistic for my lifestyle right now.

Then I came across this plan and thought it would be exactly what I needed! The training days lined up with my schedule perfectly so there should be no excuse to miss runs. It isn’t too hardcore and should hopefully just get me to the finish line injury free.

First-half-marathon-training-programme

I just completed Week 2 yesterday and I’m feeling fantastic! I’m definitely not going for any records with my speed. But I’m ok with that. My goal is to just complete this half marathon regardless of speed. I’m super excited to be running again and am definitely not taking it for granted. So if you see me out running, know that the smile I give you as we pass is truly a genuine smile. I’m just happy to be outside, happy to be running, so happy to be back once again!

Tell me your best fitness moment from last week! Did you accomplish a goal? Notice an improvement? Have a great run? Big or small, I’d love to hear one thing you are proud of from the last week!

About Leesa D

Wife and mom of two crazy little monkeys. Trying to take on life's everyday challenges with love, laughter and a lot of impromptu dance parties!
This entry was posted in fitness, Running, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Half Marathon Happenings: Week 1 & 2

  1. That is soooo awesome! I am grateful that your foot has healed and that your are running again and back on track with training for your half. Good on you, Leesa! This last week, I didn’t think I would get a 10K in as I worked out Monday and Tuesday and then not again until Sunday when I did my 10K run with only 5K on the other two days. However, I did reach a goal of a plank for 3 minutes. It wasn’t easy but I did it. So good to set goals and achieve them. Celebrate!!

  2. Brittany says:

    This is so exciting! I am SO glad you foot is feeling better! I hear you on the lack of cardio, I took some time off this past month from running and MAN I ran 3 miles…THREE and it felt like ten!! Good luck with your training!

    • Leesa D says:

      Thanks Brittany. It does suck starting again after time off. But the good news is the cardio comes back fairly quick. Hope your knee is feeling better!

I love comments! So tell me what you think!

