Enjoying the Moments

I am currently writing this post one handed, on my iPhone, with my sick little boy snoring away on my lap. This never happens. He is not the type to cuddle and fall asleep so I am definitely taking advantage of just lying here with him.

I know a lot of times it’s hard when we have so many plans, things to do and then life gets in the way of our to-do list. Yesterday my to-do list included a run in the gorgeous weather while my son was in preschool. But a sick little boy with a high fever cancelled those plans for me. Instead, I exchanged my blissful run for snuggles and multiple games of Sorry. And you know what? I really enjoyed it.

People always tell me how fast kids grow up. I half listen and continue on with my day. But lately it’s really hitting me. These snuggles with my sick kids won’t last forever. The fart jokes, kid-isms and constant giggles will one day just be a memory.

Last weekend was kind of the kicker for me. After a trying week (seems like they happen more often than not these days) I was finally able to have one of those weekends were I really felt I could enjoy every moment with the kids. It was one of those weekends where all throughout I kept thinking to myself “Yes, this is why I do what I do. This is what makes all the struggles more than worth it.”

We went away for the weekend to celebrate Papa’s 85th birthday. We went to the bowling alley for a couple games. I wasn’t sure how the kids would do. It was going to be past their bedtime, Izak has a short attention span and I just had visions of him running down the lanes and sliding head first into the pins. But to my surprise, they were so great! In fact my daughter even broke 100 her second game. (Which, sadly, was almost enough to beat everyone on our team ;))

The kids were having such a good time and being so independent. It was extra adorable to see them cheer for everyone, regardless of how you bowled. My son loved to cheer for himself as well. As he watched the ball sloooooooowly make it’s way down the lane you would hear shouts of “Go Izak! Go Izak! Woooo hoooo!” Followed by a butt wiggle and jumps for joy.  My daughter would jump up and down with excitement whether she knocked down one pin or 5. Her smile would light the room.

In the morning we went out for breakfast. My daughter has been on a “no wheat” kick for a few weeks now. One day I had suggested that wheat may be the cause of her tummy not feeling well. So she took herself off wheat right then and there. She’s 5. So at the restaurant as we looked at the menu she says “Mommy I don’t want to eat wheat, what can I order without wheat?” Yeah, she’s growing up too fast.

We went on the water slides at the hotel and I had a blast hanging out with my kidlets. They wanted to go as fast as possible down the slides. And no sooner are you down the slide before you hear “Again!”

photoThere was an Easter egg hunt at Papa and Mama’s house for the kids. Izak was happy that the real Easter bunny came this time, unlike the one that came to his preschool before Spring Break. “Mommy the Easter Bunny came! But it wasn’t the real Easter Bunny…I could see his neck sticking out.”
No, it won’t be long before the Easter Bunny will lose his mystery altogether. They are growing up way too fast.

So for now I’m going to make it a point to stop and enjoy them more than ever. To stop saying I’m “too busy” and start playing more games with them. When I’m in the middle of something but my little girl needs a snuggle, well everything else can wait. Because time waits for no one, and I don’t want to miss these precious moments with my kids.

IMG_3684

About Leesa D

Wife and mom of two crazy little monkeys. Trying to take on life's everyday challenges with love, laughter and a lot of impromptu dance parties!
This entry was posted in Happiness, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Enjoying the Moments

  1. You totally brought tears to my eyes as I read your post. I have been feeling the same way. Life gets so busy and I want to focus more on doing things with my kiddos and taking advantage of the moments with them because you are right – they go by way too fast. I notice that when I am putting a school days album together and realize how fast the years go by or when pictures of my kids when they were little pop up on my computer. Enjoy the snuggles, get through the tough days, and cherish the moments!

    • Leesa D says:

      Exactly. It always hits me when I look back at pics. I can’t believe my kidlets were ever that small. The days are long but the years are short…

  2. Brittany says:

    What a beautifully written post, and all with one hand..I’m impressed!! I do think that the fart jokes will continue though..you have a boy..they will definitely continue!!

I love comments! So tell me what you think!

