Gluten Free Bread: The Good, The Bad and the Chubby

Photo 2013-04-24 1 55 57 PM

The good news? I found an awesome gluten free bread recipe!!! The bad news? I can’t stop eating the delicious gluten free bread! It’s making it even more difficult for me to get rid of the extra chubbiness I’ve been carrying around lately. *sigh* I figure after the first few loaves perhaps I’ll be used to having good bread in the house again and won’t feel the need to scarf it down so much? We shall see.

Since being off wheat I don’t normally eat much bread at all.  But I’ve bought a few gluten free breads to have on the rare occasion that I just really feel the need.  I have the Silver Hills gluten free bread and although I like the taste it’s really not anything like normal bread. The loaf feels like a rock.  Super dense, dry, tiny little pieces of bread.  It doesn’t exactly get me excited to eat a sandwich. But it works in a pinch.

And then I was perusing Pinterest yesterday and came across a gluten free, dairy free bread made in the breadmaker.  What a perfect excuse to haul out the old bread maker!  My poor bread maker has been unloved for years.  When I first bought it I stopped buying bread in the stores and always had delicious homemade bread on hand. And then for some reason I decided to put it in the pantry for bit. (Probably due to my severe lack of counter space) Bad move.  It’s been there ever since.

So why do I love this recipe so much? The bread actually tastes like bread! It’s moist, light and delicious.  You can actually fold the bread if you wish.  It won’t flake and fall apart.  And if you happen to drop a piece on the counter the children won’t go running to see who’s knocking on the door.  I also love that it’s a versatile recipe.  You have many choices as to what flours to use, plus you can add in extras such as sesame seeds or sunflower seeds if you wish.  And of course I love that it’s a clean recipe as well.

I'm amazed I had enough self control to stop eating and take a picture!

I’m amazed I had enough self control to stop eating and take a picture!

The original recipe was posted by Kim on Gluten Free Real Food.  Go check out her blog as she has other awesome recipes as well! She also has a simplified version of the recipe here if this one seems a little daunting to you. (It’s really not nearly as complicated as it looks!)

Since I didn’t have any special flours on hand I used my Vitamix to grind quinoa and brown rice flour.  Gluten free flours can get quite pricey so if you can make your own it’s a great option!

Don’t have a bread maker?  No worries! Click on the link to Kim’s blog for instructions on how to make it without a bread maker.  And without further ado, here’s the recipe!

Photo 2013-04-24 3 33 56 PM

Kim’s Gluten Free, Dairy Free Whole Grain Bread

Posted with Permission from Gluten Free Real Food

3 large eggs lightly beaten
1 tsp apple cider vinegar
1/4 cup oil of choice (I used Olive Oil but you can also use canola, corn, coconut, grape seed etc)
1 1/3 cup milk of choice – unsweetened (I used almond but you can also use rice, hemp, or cows) warmed to about body temperature
1 Tbsp +1 tsp honey
3 Tbsp brown sugar (I used Sucanat)
1/2 cup millet,sorghum, quinoa, amaranth or buckwheat flour  (choose one) (I used Quinoa flour for both)
1/2 cup second choice of flour – millet, sorghum, quinoa, amaranth or buckwheat flour (choose one)
1 cup multi grain rice flour, brown rice flour or my favorite teff flour
1/2 cup tapioca flour
1/2 cup corn starch (potato starch works too)
3 t xanthan gum
1 1/2 t salt
2 1/4 t dry active yeast
optional add ins:
flax seeds
sesame seeds
sunflower seeds
add in a total of about a 1/4 cup
Directions:
Combine first 6 ingredients in bread maker pan. Sift next 7 ingredients and then add it on top of liquid ingredients. Toss in your add ins. Make a little well in the dry ingredients and add the yeast in to the hole. Start the bread maker. I used the Gluten Free bread setting on the bread maker.  Use a spatula to scrape down the sides during the initial mixing.
Don’t have a GF setting? Here’s what Kim has to say:
I do not have a bread maker that has a setting for gluten free bread. So during the initial mixing part I help it out a little. I use a soft spatula and scrape down the sides and help everything get all mixed in. GF bread needs less time as there is no need for additional punch downs like with wheat bread. My machine allows me to program in personal recipes so I use the following settings:
No preheat
Knead 1 = 5 minutes
Knead 2 = 15 minutes
Rise = 60 minutes
Bake 50 minutes
Temp 340 degrees

Now I’d better go make another loaf since this one is about done! I’m drooling at the thought of fresh bread with peanut butter on top. Mmmmmmm.

What’s your favourite way to enjoy a fresh slice of bread?

About Leesa D

Wife and mom of two crazy little monkeys. Trying to take on life's everyday challenges with love, laughter and a lot of impromptu dance parties!
This entry was posted in Baked Goods, Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Gluten Free Bread: The Good, The Bad and the Chubby

  1. Brittany says:

    I love that you found a great recipe!! Most store bought GF breads taste like cardboard! I can understand your desire to eat a lot of it! HA!

  2. Sandra says:

    I’ve made this twice now – it’s the best recipe so far except for another one that I added too much bicarb & that spoiled it, so my fault but it was still good

I love comments! So tell me what you think!

