The Breakup

It's Over

My love and I have separated for awhile. It’s been a week now and I’m feeling strong in my decision. Although we have a lot of really great times, the relationship was really just starting to drain me. I tried to stick it out, give it one last shot, but I’m just so tired of being let down again and again. Yes, Facebook, you and I are on a break.

Why you ask? Well, I’m tired of the constant comparisons. Tired of the lies. Either it was negativity constantly being thrown at me or eye rolling lies of omission. Partial stories trying to make me believe life is as perfect as a photoshopped picture when I know the reality is far less than pretty.

And if it wasn’t that it was the company that was kept. People I have tried to leave in the past are far too close for comfort. Because it doesn’t matter what friends I have kept, I’m subject to the scrutiny of their friends as well. The network is too big, too intertwined, too full of constant reminders of past hurts. Too full of drama. High school mentality. A written word on this forum is said without thought. Words that, if face to face, would never escape the lips.

Was I immune? Absolutely not. Friends should be chosen carefully because if you spend too much time with someone it’s all too easy to take on the less than favourable traits. I took on all the collective traits that bother me so much. I’m easily influenced. I was drawn in, sucked into the black hole. Time stands still. Poof it’s gone. Spent on what? Drama? Gossip? Definitely not enough on those that are most important.

Was it all bad? No. There are many things that I will miss. Inspirational stories, hilarious happenings, and a place to share my memories with those that I love. To be honest, most on my list are great people that I love. So I hope that by letting go of this bigger relationship, the real relationships will still hold strong.

Will I be gone for good? I can’t say for sure. I tried it once before and only escaped for a short time before I was back. But I can’t keep doing this dance any longer. This relationship can’t be the most important one in my life. In order to make room for the really important ones I think it needs the boot. I need to recharge. Get my head on straight. Spend time face to face with my little ones instead of my iPhone screen. Have real face to face coffee dates instead of screen time, couch and coffee dates. Stop thinking in Facebook status form. Make real memories instead of ones that just look good in a check in photograph.

So once again Facebook, I bid you adieu.

Leesa D just checked-in with her family. πŸ˜‰

About Leesa D

Wife and mom of two crazy little monkeys. Trying to take on life's everyday challenges with love, laughter and a lot of impromptu dance parties!
This entry was posted in Happiness, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to The Breakup

  1. Shannon says:

    Holy crap your first few sentences scared me… don’t do that! Lol

  2. Bethany says:

    Coffee/playdate soon? πŸ™‚

  3. lissanderson says:

    Love this, Leesa! So well said. Facebook and I are currently on a break as well, and I have taken breaks from it in the past, but lately I feel especially fed up with it. I haven’t decided if I will go back either… Because as you said, there are the great things about it, like sharing with loved ones, but there have been too many things making me shake my head and lots of things I just don’t want to see or hear about. The real world is much better πŸ™‚

  4. nicole says:

    LOL! I thought you were going to say that you were quitting running! You can’t do that we still have to do a half marathon together!
    I will miss your comments on my posts and your updates about your crazy kids!
    These rainy days don’t seem to be coming to an end so we may never be able to do our afterschool playground date. We will have to come up with something else.

  5. That is awesome! Support you 100% and I need to look at doing the same to just start cutting out some of my screen time. I put limits on my kids in this regard so time to do the same for me so I can also focus and “check in” with my family. Looking forward to a wine night – this week still? Your place or mine? Love you Girl!

  6. I’m glad I can still connect with you through wordpress. πŸ™‚

I love comments! So tell me what you think!