The Rains Came Down

Calgary flood. June 22, 2013

Life seems a bit surreal right now.  I’m sitting here in my cozy house with my family.  Outside the sun is shining, the streets are dry.  I hear lawnmowers mowing.  And yet, half of my city is under water as I type.

My son was supposed to have his end of the year preschool picnic on Thursday at Bowness Park.  They said we’d have the picnic rain or shine. Well, rain or shine did not include flooding so they cancelled that morning. It never even crossed my mind that this rain which kept us inside for the day would turn into the worst flood Calgary has ever seen.  The park where we were supposed to meet to celebrate the end of the year is no more.  Covered in the muddy flood waters of the Bow River.

Although our area was saved from flooding, my daughter’s school was cancelled Friday and now Monday.  Many schools are now closed for the year.  Diploma exams are optional for students in Calgary.  The Downtown Core is closed.  A ghost town. My husband is not allowed to go to work. They are saying until mid week but possibly longer.

I’ve never been a fan of Twitter, I don’t really get it. But in the last two days I have learned quickly how helpful Twitter can be in a crisis.  The most up to date information at your fingertips. I have been glued to my Twitter feed.  I can’t stop following the flood coverage.

I keep thinking of all the people evacuated from their homes.  Many people are now able to go back.  What will they find when they do? So many damages.  So much loss. My heart breaks for them.

Right now I feel so helpless. I’m watching this city, this province, being washed away. So close to the damage but it feels like a world away.  I’m hoping to hear soon in what ways we can volunteer.

But I also feel encouraged.  Watching the ways this city is coming together, united, so many people ready and willing to step up where they can.  It just goes to show the strength of this city, the true heart of Calgarians.

Most of all I feel extremely grateful.  So grateful that my family and friends were saved from the floods.  Grateful that we are all safe and healthy. Grateful for all the blessings that God has given me.  If there is one thing that everyone can take from any disaster is a reminder to be grateful for what you do have.

Pray for those affected by the floods.  Lend a helping hand where needed. Give what you can.

If you are able to give to the Alberta Relief Fund please visit the Red Cross website or call 1-866-696-6484

About Leesa D

Wife and mom of two crazy little monkeys. Trying to take on life's everyday challenges with love, laughter and a lot of impromptu dance parties!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Rains Came Down

  1. alifecurated says:

    I did not know the flooding was so bad there; I am glad your family is safe and I hope that relief is available to those who are suffering losses.

    • Leesa D says:

      Yes I’m still having a hard time believing how bad it really is. But the people in this city are pretty amazing. So many people willing to help out others in need.

  2. Adam C. Henderson says:

    I had the opportunity to visit Calgary a couple years ago and have many friends in Edmonton. I am glad you are safe and praying for all those who will begin cleaning up. It is an arduous task, but one thing I know about Albertans…you are strong-willed, hearty folk who band together! In the end this will prove to be an inspiring event and you all all overcome!

I love comments! So tell me what you think!

