Clean Eating Protein Pancake

I love lazy Saturday mornings. The one day where we let the kids wake up and turn on the tv while my husband and I dream away happily.  Eventually waking up (ok, that means about 8am) to the smell of coffee brewing.  A treat I only give myself on the weekends. Mmmmmm.  Then heading downstairs to make a fabulous breakfast of pancakes and lots of delicious fruit.

The problem with this picture is that pancakes of course are full of gluten and low on protein. Being as I like to eat wheat free and make sure I get in my protein serving at every meal/snack, I’ve been forced to miss out on this delightful breakfast with the fam for far too long.

The good news, my friends?  I have found a solution!! I’ve come up with a delicious, nutritious, wheat free, high protein pancake recipe! Woot woot! So no more do I have to sit back and drool while the fam eats their meal.  I can now partake in the awesomeness of pancakes once more. Want more great news? This recipe is super easy and doesn’t require any crazy ingredients. I know, I know, just thank me later.

*Disclaimer: I am not a photographer so please do not judge me or this recipe by the quality of these photos.  You’re just lucky I took the time to take a picture or two before gobbling up all this goodness.

So without further ado, here is my protein pancake recipe.

 Clean Eating Wheat Free Protein Pancake 

20130720-134607.jpg

  •  1/2 cup oat flour (*to make your own, grind regular oats in Vitamix or blender.  Be sure to use gluten free oats if required)
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 1/4 tsp baking powder (*use gluten free brand if required)
  • pinch of sea salt (I use Redmond’s Real Salt)
  • 1/2 Tbsp chia seeds (optional)
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup liquid egg whites
  • 1 Tbsp unsweetened almond milk

Mix dry ingredients in a small bowl.  Add in wet ingredients and whisk together.  Let batter sit for a few minutes.  In the meantime heat your griddle or frying pan.  You can either make one giant pancake, like I do, or make 3-4 smaller pancakes.  Cook as you would a regular pancake, watching for bubbles to form on top before flipping and cooking 1-2 minutes on the other side. Add your favorite toppings and enjoy!

20130720-134500.jpg

This recipe even passed the test with my son, who is ULTRA picky in the wheat free department. Mmmmm mmmm good.

photo 3

What’s your Saturday morning routine? Are you a Saturday morning early riser or do you enjoy a more laid back kind of day?

About Leesa D

Wife and mom of two crazy little monkeys. Trying to take on life's everyday challenges with love, laughter and a lot of impromptu dance parties!
This entry was posted in Main Dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I love comments! So tell me what you think!

