Freshette vs Shewee: Some Urination Considerations

As some of you may remember, last year I wrote about my love for the female urinary device after using the Freshette on my hike up Fisher Peak. If you don’t know what a female urinary device is then you are missing out. It’s a funnel/hose contraption that allows a woman to stand up to pee. Greatest invention ever!

After writing that blog post (Free To Be Me But Pee Like A He), the founder of Shewee, Sam Fountain, decided to send me a Shewee to try out and compare with the Freshette. Unfortunately, I had not been out hiking in the past year and didn’t have a chance to use it. Can you believe it?!

You can imagine how excited I was when my husband and I went away for a week of camping and hiking without the kids. My first thought of course…I finally get to try out my Shewee!! I’ll try to write more about my trip later, but right now we have serious matters to discuss. That is, the great Freshette vs Shewee debate. I’ve had a few people hounding me about my review and I can finally give one.

I was looking forward to using the Shewee daily while hiking but unfortunately most of the hikes had outhouses at the top. Way to ruin my fun! I guess I could have used it while in the outhouse but,well, that just seems pointless to me.

Anyway, the day finally came for me to try out the Shewee. It was our last day of hiking. We were in Waterton National Park hiking Crypt Lake. I was staying nice and hydrated and making good time on the hike when I realized it was time to take care of business. At last! It was time to break out the Shewee. We were about half way to the top of the hike standing on a hill with two people right above us and two people coming up below us. I break out the Shewee. I’m giggling once again at the thought of peeing in the trees like a man. All is good and then….ummm pretty sure I’m not supposed to feel it going down my legs!!!! No, no this is all wrong. I was mortified. What am I supposed to do now? This did NOT happen with the Freshette.

I’m starting to panic. What do I do? Throw some water on my legs and just pretend I’m clumsy or an extreme sweater? Turn around and go home? Strip naked and air dry? Ok that was never actually an option.

Thankfully there were a few things working in my favor:
1) My pants were black, with loose legs and a quick dry material. Peter said you couldn’t actually tell by looking. (But what about smelling? Hmmm)
2) We were hiking fast enough that we were pretty much on our own on the trail.
3) It was our last day of hiking so I wouldn’t have to wear those pants again.
4) We both have a good sense of humour and were able to laugh about it for the rest of the hike.

So what went wrong? Perhaps there was a bit of user error? Maybe I needed more control? When comparing the two devices the Freshette has a much larger funnel area. I’m guessing the problem comes simply from releasing too much liquid at once. The Shewee simply can’t handle all I have to offer. Either way I have used the Freshette numerous times and have never had any issues.
20130827-165409.jpg
So after this experience I can say without hesitation that my vote is with the Freshette. I’m not going to lie, I’m pretty disappointed. I really wanted to love you, Shewee. You have the better name, the better case, but unfortunately I just can’t stand up for you anymore.

Related links:
www.shewee.ca
www.freshette.com

20130825-151841.jpg

20130825-151928.jpg

About Leesa D

Wife and mom of two crazy little monkeys. Trying to take on life's everyday challenges with love, laughter and a lot of impromptu dance parties!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Freshette vs Shewee: Some Urination Considerations

  1. Ramona P says:

    I’m laughing because I did not realize how to pronounce Shewee until the last name when I finally got it. It is she-wee, but I was thinking shoe-ee (like whooee, I have to find a restroom!). Good review.

  2. Angie says:

    LOL!!! Why am I just hearing about this now?? Glad you have a good sense of humour. I would have wanted to turn around and go home. Shewee definitely has the better name, it makes me giggle everytime I hear it! !! 🙂

    • Leesa D says:

      I guess we just haven’t had enough time to talk about the important things lately 😉 Turning around wouldn’t have been a great option as we still would have had to wait for the boat to that us back about 4-5 hours later. Sense of humour wins every time!

I love comments! So tell me what you think!

