Time For a Fresh Start

20140101-201005.jpg

Another new year, another opportunity for a fresh start. I’m not really one for big resolutions and I don’t really want to jump on that train this year either. But I think making unrealistic resolutions for the year is much different then setting goals.

I haven’t been blogging, I haven’t been running and I only started back at the gym in December. So goals are what I really need right now. As well as some serious accountability. Which brings me back to this blog. That’s what I created it for in the first place right?

I won’t give myself a weight goal. I realized during my time on the DAMY program that big changes do not necessarily mean a big drop on the scale I don’t even want to say I’m going to run x number of times a week. But I do want to make a goal of getting back to that happy and healthy place I was a year ago.

I want to be able to run and enjoy it. I was reading some old blogs about my love for running and I missed that feeling. I started craving that feeling you get after a good run. I think half the problem is that I did actually forget what it felt like to get outside and run for the pure enjoyment.

What’s horrifying to me is that I realized I haven’t been outside for a run since the summer and I’ve only done a couple walk/runs at the track since then. How did I go from loving to run, training for and completing a half marathon, to barely logging 10k a month at a track?

So today I took the first step and went outside for a run. It was cold and the sidewalks were covered in snow/ice which added another level of difficulty. I wasn’t going for speed, and I wasn’t going for distance. I was simply getting outside to make today my first day back at it. And you know what? It felt great. I was able to get that little taste of why I started to love running in the first place.

Tomorrow I will restart my early mornings at the gym. One thing I have learned is that if you want to see big changes you need to hit the weight room! And of course you can train as hard as you want but you can’t out train a bad diet. So I need to make sure I’m fueling my body the right way. And no, this does not mean a crazy low cal diet. It means eating (and eating quite a lot!) of good clean nutritious food.

As for a specific goal, I want to run at least one 5k and one 10k by the summer. Eventually I will do another half, but for now I’m keeping it simple. I want to enjoy running, so I don’t want to pressure myself too much. I will look into specific races and register for them by the end of this month.

We’ve also booked a trip to Mexico in April for our 10th anniversary, so of course my other goal is to feel comfortable and look fantastic in my bikini.

So there you have it, nothing crazy, nothing unreachable and right now it’s not even anything too specific. I simply want to start taking more steps in the right direction. And really, I think we all just need to focus on taking one step at a time.

20140101-201459.jpg

What are your goals for the new year? What’s your first step to achieving your goal?

About Leesa D

Wife and mom of two crazy little monkeys. Trying to take on life's everyday challenges with love, laughter and a lot of impromptu dance parties!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Time For a Fresh Start

  1. Ramona P says:

    My first step is deciding what it will take to achieve a goal and then putting together my plan. I have to be realistic and clear about my level of commitment too; that’s important too. Good luck with your running. I made a similar renewed commitment to my swimming.

I love comments! So tell me what you think!

