Vegan Blueberry Oatmeal Muffins

When it comes to baking I’m an all or nothing kind of gal.  Well actually, I think all or nothing probably describes more areas of my life than baking.  Regardless, I love to bake.  And when I bake I can never just make one batch of cookies.  Oh no, it will be two different batches of cookies and some muffins.  Then the next day I’ll probably bake some banana bread and another batch of muffins.  The day after that I will most likely bake at least another batch of cookies.  Until finally my freezer is full and I’m well stocked for lunches and snacks for quite some time.  At which point I will cease to bake altogether until my supply is completely exhausted.

Well, I started another marathon baking spree this week.  I was inspired by the delicious muffins posted by my friend, Amira, in her Facebook group Healthify Veganize.  I love a good healthy muffin recipe so I couldn’t resist.  These muffins did not disappoint! Both my kids gobbled them down (as did I) and couldn’t wait for me to make another batch (I ended up making two more).

And of course being the type that loves to share the wealth I decided I needed to share the recipe with all of you! Enjoy!

Vegan Blueberry Oatmeal Muffins

(posted with permission)

20140117-142723.jpg

  • 1 cup whole wheat flour (I used Spelt Flour)
  • 1 cup oats
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 cup pure maple syrup
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil, melted
  • 3/4 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 2/3cup – 1 cup frozen blueberries ( I used 2/3 for one batch and 1 cup for the second batch
  • optional: coconut oil for greasing pans

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Prepare muffin tins by greasing with coconut oil.  Alternatively you can use silicon pans which are my preference. Mix dry ingredients well in a large bowl.  Add wet ingredients. Fold in blueberries. Pour batter into muffin tins 2/3 full.  Place in preheated oven for 23 min.  Let cool in muffin tins once removed from oven.

20140117-143531.jpg

Izak’s first bite…

20140117-143601.jpg

…It gets the thumbs up!

Do you like a freezer full of baked goods or do you prefer to make a batch at a time of fresh goodies?

About Leesa D

Wife and mom of two crazy little monkeys. Trying to take on life's everyday challenges with love, laughter and a lot of impromptu dance parties!
This entry was posted in Baked Goods, Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Vegan Blueberry Oatmeal Muffins

  1. Pingback: Berry Muffins | gluadys' cookbooks

  2. akosmopolite says:

    Second time making them ^_^. I add 1 tsp baking soda too, so that baking soda and baking powder can do their beautiful chemical reaction lol. Have you tried using apple sauce in recipe? I’ve thought to try ❤

I love comments! So tell me what you think!

