What Would Life Be Without Music?

20140120-065155.jpg

No matter the state of my life or emotions music is the one constant.  Whether I’m in a dark and depressed state or I’m on top of the world, I can always find a song to match.

I’ve been having trouble sleeping lately so I’ve been taking a lot of long walks in the evenings.  Listening to music and letting the emotions, the music, and the fresh air sooth my neurotic mind.  Amazing how much faster sleep comes after listening to calming music and breathing in cool winter air.

During the day, determined to keep boredom and depression at bay the music is loud and happy.  Dance parties crazy enough to embarrass my 4 year old are happening daily.  What point is there in having children if you can’t embarrass them?

Sometimes music will be there to lift my spirits, keep me from giving into my impatience with my children.  Sometimes it will be there to comfort me in my lowest of moods.  Sometimes I will listen to sad melodies and soft words, wallow in my pain and cry all my tears.  And sometimes all I want to do is listen to happy music and dance barefoot in my kitchen belting out tunes in a wooden spoon microphone.

There’s nothing like the rush of emotions that comes back to me when I hear a song that was playing during an important time in my life.  Listening to a song can bring back some of the greatest memories, and also the most painful.  From my wedding song, the album my best friend and I used to listen to in high school while cruising around town, and also the song that I cried my eyes out to when I found out my friend had died in a car accident.  There’s just so much emotion attached to music.  It’s no wonder the most powerful part of any church service for me is the worship.  Nothing can elicit tears from this girl faster than a powerful worship song.

I love that it doesn’t matter how I’m feeling, through music I can always find someone who’s been through the same struggles and the same joys.  Whose poetic words match the state of my heart. I love the feeling of connection that comes from a beautiful melody and lyrics that speak to my soul.

What would life be without music? I hope I’ll never have to find out.

About Leesa D

Wife and mom of two crazy little monkeys. Trying to take on life's everyday challenges with love, laughter and a lot of impromptu dance parties!
This entry was posted in Happiness, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to What Would Life Be Without Music?

  1. I agree with you, Leesa. I am a lover of music! I love the emotions that it elicits. I love the calming essence but also the fun way it can lift my spirits. If you pull up next to me in my car, for instance, you would likely see me singing my heart out. So glad my kids don’t get embarrassed by this – yet. And during a church service, the music is what speaks deep to my heart. A couple of good songs I have heard recently that you should check out:
    “Good” by Dave Barnes
    “When God Made You” by NewSong and Natalie Grant

  2. Hannah says:

    I was just thinking about this yesterday! I love when I stumble on a song that is the perfect theme song of my day and how I’m feeling at that moment. I have an hour long commute which turns into hour long singing practice 🙂

  3. Brittany says:

    I just loovee music..it’s so powerful!! Even when the songs are sad..I feel good having a song to relate to every mood!

  4. Pingback: Reading Between the Lines in the Underappreciated Role of Mom | HealthHappinessHumour

I love comments! So tell me what you think!

