For Every Dark Night There’s a Brighter Day

20140112-130258.jpg

Do you ever have one of those moments where you stop and look at your life, like really look at everything in front of you, and realize how lucky you are? That was me this morning.

I’ve been having a bit of a rough patch lately. Perhaps it’s the weather, the over abundance of sugar and unhealthy foods, or just lonely housewife syndrome, but it hasn’t been good. I’ve been in a fog. Short tempered, and unable to deal with day to day life with my children. Snapping at my ever patient husband and taking for granted everything he does for me.

I let distractions get in my way once again. Distractions blocking all the amazingness that’s right in front of me. I was focused, life was going my way and then just like that I lost sight of what was important. It’s so easy for me to let boredom and selfishness get in my way instead of remembering to be grateful for what I have.

20140112-114949.jpg

I’ve talked about gratefulness and contentment before but I think being grateful is something that requires a conscious effort and constant reminder. At least this is very true in my life.

Everything will be going so well for me and I start to get too comfortable. And when I start to get too comfortable that’s when it sneaks up on me. All of a sudden what I have isn’t good enough anymore. I start to think the grass is greener. It’s like there’s a giant spotlight on everything just out of reach and I’m blinded to what is right in front of me.

But this morning, after being woken up to whining and screaming from my fighting children and two tired parents not dealing with it as well as they should have, I decided to stop and take a breather. Time to rethink what I’ve been doing because obviously it’s not working for anyone. Time to adjust my attitude and get rid of some of the distractions. Time to once again remind myself that if you can’t change the situation then you have to change your attitude.

So this morning I came down with a new resolve. I came down and looked at my family, really looked at them, and my heart swelled with love and well, a lot of guilt. I haven’t been there for them lately. But today is a new day. I’m going to do my best to get rid of the distractions and just be there. It’s never easy and I’m far from perfect but I’m hitting reset and trying once more. Today I’m grateful for my family, for love and hugs, the forgiveness of a child, and the knowledge that for every dark night there’s a brighter day.

About Leesa D

Wife and mom of two crazy little monkeys. Trying to take on life's everyday challenges with love, laughter and a lot of impromptu dance parties!
This entry was posted in Happiness, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to For Every Dark Night There’s a Brighter Day

  1. Thanks for sharing. Totally feel blessed by this life, even in life’s difficulties and impatience at times. Good to take a moment to stop and breath and realize how amazing our life truly is.
    A quote I recently found stated it simply,
    “because when you stop and look around, this life is pretty amazing”

  2. LrMolife says:

    It’s so true – to appreciate what we have we do have to pause check and reset that attitude on a regular basis!
    Beautiful words!

I love comments! So tell me what you think!