When Life Gives You Sore Throats, Make Yogurt Pops!

This weekend was supposed to be our last camping weekend of the year. Weather is great, trailer is ready, excited to go and…of course someone gets sick! 😦

My poor little girl had to miss school on Thursday and was stuck home with a fever and sore throat. Although sometimes I think the kids actually enjoy being sick. Because what happens when they are sick? They get to stay in their pjs, eat on the couch and watch movies. I don’t think they are truly suffering. πŸ˜‰

So what do kids love to eat to cure a sore throat? Popsicles, freezies, ice cream, anything cold, soothing and delicious. Well if you know me, you know I’m not the mom with a freezer stocked full of those frozen treats. I don’t like to buy things with added sugar or artificial ingredients. So what’s a mom to do?

I made my own of course! Making your own delicious frozen treats couldn’t be easier and you only need a few ingredients. I whipped up a batch with ingredients that are always available at the house and it took about 5 min to do (including washing the fruit).

The kids couldn’t have been happier! They were definitely a hit. Ayla exclaimed that they were “the best popsicles ever!!” That may be pushing it, but they were definitely good.

20120922-094455.jpg

Strawberry Peach Yogurt Pops

1/2 cup plain organic yogurt
1 cup strawberries
1 peach
1 banana
1 tsp vanilla
3 tbsp pure maple syrup

Place all ingredients in your blender. Blend until smooth. Pour into popsicle molds and freeze for at least 3 hours. Enjoy!!

We may not be going camping this weekend but instead I think we will be spending the first day of fall soaking up the sun in our beautiful backyard while enjoying all sorts of yummy frozen treats.

Stay tuned for more recipes…

What was your favorite “sick” treat as a kid?

About Leesa D

Wife and mom of two crazy little monkeys. Trying to take on life's everyday challenges with love, laughter and a lot of impromptu dance parties!
This entry was posted in health, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to When Life Gives You Sore Throats, Make Yogurt Pops!

  1. mom says:

    Mine totally was not organic…gingerale! Still the best when feeling sick. Hot tea with honey worked as well. And when I had a tooth pulled, your grandma,( my mom πŸ™‚ made me cubed bread in warm sugared milk. Mmmmm I can still taste how soothing it was. How times change.

    Your popsicles look so delicious! You are an inspiration for us to eat healthy. What a beautiful fall day for them. Tommorow promises to be another one.

    You are a good mom. Give Ayla hugs and kisses from Grandma.

    • Leesa D says:

      Always nice to have those good memories! I remember drinking gingerale and loving it. Perhaps you should try the Zevia gingerale now for a more natural yet equally refreshing sick treat!
      Thanks for the support. I have learned from the best you know πŸ˜‰

I love comments! So tell me what you think!